We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5339 )
5 star
 (2914)
4 star
 (1200)
3 star
 (614)
2 star
 (304)
1 star
 (307)
Overall
4.1 (4921 )
5 star
 (2646)
4 star
 (1132)
3 star
 (559)
2 star
 (285)
1 star
 (299)
Story
4.3 (4921 )
5 star
 (3070)
4 star
 (867)
3 star
 (445)
2 star
 (228)
1 star
 (311)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mary Deen Upper Peninsula, MI 11-08-15
    Mary Deen Upper Peninsula, MI 11-08-15 Member Since 2007

    snowed under

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    264
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Yes


    What did you like best about this story?

    All of it. I usually reward myself with an audio book when I'm doing something odious like cleaning the house. I had to sit down and just listen because I was laughing so hard I was crying and I didn't want to vacuum up my shoe laces cause that's never good.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AnnieJ2113 11-08-15
    AnnieJ2113 11-08-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Jenny is amazing. Read two of her books already. Need more cowbell? Need more books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Swope katy, tx United States 11-04-15
    M. Swope katy, tx United States 11-04-15 Member Since 2015

    pinch

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson's book is wonderful!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes - especially if you've lived in Texas... So much of this book is relate-able (and quite a bit isn't, but whatever). Jenny's reading is great - almost like she's ad-libbing. The more serious parts are a little difficult to endure (esp. if you're empathetic), but she brings you back with other stories that lighten the mood...


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The story about her dog (that died) and her interaction with her husband, neighbors and her friend, seems to blow out of control, then come back together nicely...


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, but I'm considering her next book, "Furiously Happy..."


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I did actually laugh out loud at several of the passages. Mostly, they made me smile.


    Any additional comments?

    Wow! This girl can talk! and talk... and... well, you get it. Plus she curses a lot, but if you're prepared for it, the stories are great!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KDirt Jackson, WY United States 11-03-15
    KDirt Jackson, WY United States 11-03-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't let the start stop you!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Certainly the most unusual and somewhat outrageous book, however, I was entertained!


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    Incomparable to any other book I've read!!


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Artificially inseminating the cow.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed most of the book!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    davidànichols 11-01-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing childish humor"

    This was not very good. I was sorry I bought in the the first 5 minutes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carmen 10-27-15
    Carmen 10-27-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    86
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    One of the wittiest funniest books I've experienced. Don't listen to it with kids in the room if you are offended by language... but it's colorful.. not vulgar. Everyone can relate to at least one small aspect of her personality and experiences... but to have them ALL in ONE LIFETIME?? Hence the awesome memoir! :)


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Johanna 10-23-15
    Johanna 10-23-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good thing Im divorced because Im in love"

    How can I have missed her? This is a funny book that made me laught until I acctualy wet myself a little on the bus. And still, at the same time it deals with that serous stuff that many of us struggle with on a daily basis.
    Please read it. I think you'll like it. And if you dont well I guess there's something wrong with you, in a bad way.
    /from "yes she's special" mom whos kids has to sneak and whisper to be able to get to school and daycare without being stalked by turkeys, chickens and cats

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica Smarr 10-22-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson is a treasure."
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I have already listened to certain chapters multiple times, and I'm buying a copy for my mom's birthday. As a fellow survivor of rural Texas, these stories were relatable and hilarious and touching and perfect and deserve lots and lots of run-on sentences full of praise. Also, this book made me realize I am a particular fan of squirrel-based humor. <br/><br/>Squirrels are just inherently funny.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    To me, Lawson's work is the delightful, overall-sporting, dead-animal-owning third cousin to Sedaris' work. It's irreverant and hilarious and unique, much like David Sedaris' books. It also, like his work, is highly contextualized. While Sedaris' work is all New York, Lawson's work is most certainly Texas.


    Any additional comments?

    I would go so far to say that this book is better on audiobook than on the page. Jenny Lawson's narration is golden. She sings all the chapter titles and it's just precious.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Summer Boelter 10-22-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love, love, loved it!"

    Jenny Lawson is amazing! She perfectly blends comedy with heartfelt, serious issues many of us struggle with.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    humilitee 10-17-15
    humilitee 10-17-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stupidest book EVER!!"

    How will I ever get this time back in my life!? Thank gawd I didn't finish it. I couldn't stand sound of her whiny voice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.