We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5214 )
5 star
 (2833)
4 star
 (1178)
3 star
 (603)
2 star
 (300)
1 star
 (300)
Overall
4.1 (4808 )
5 star
 (2572)
4 star
 (1113)
3 star
 (548)
2 star
 (278)
1 star
 (297)
Story
4.2 (4808 )
5 star
 (2991)
4 star
 (849)
3 star
 (437)
2 star
 (224)
1 star
 (307)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Liz 06-05-16
    Liz 06-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Everywhere and nowhere"

    This book started out interestingly and funny. However, towards the end it just seemed to be a little "out there". I enjoyed the stories of her HR job experiences though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy Beehn 06-04-16
    Nancy Beehn 06-04-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funniest thing I've ever listened to!"

    Great stories. Great narration. Absolutely couldn't put it down. I love this author's sense of humor.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Chamberlain 06-01-16

    Nerd

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpectedly brilliant and hysterical"

    I was about to lose an Audible credit and this was at the top of my recommendations list, so I figured why not. I cannot believe how funny this is, and I feel like the author reading it herself adds so much dimension to the stories.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brianna 05-31-16
    Brianna 05-31-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No"

    I did not like this book. Her voice is annoying and she's not very funny. I literally laughed two times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caitlyn 05-26-16
    Caitlyn 05-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious!"

    Jenny Lawson had my cracking up. So much fun to listen to. Her narration was brilliant and well paced. I love that she sings the chapter titles. She really takes advantage of the audio format. loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicole 05-22-16
    Nicole 05-22-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thank You, Jenny Lawson"

    Loved everything about this and her other book. Please, write another, and another! Laugh out loud funny. And at times, touching. Just so real.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    natasha 05-20-16
    natasha 05-20-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious, cringe worthy, listen again and again!"

    I would recommend this to everyone. It's messy, crazy, heart wrenching and beautiful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brenda D 05-16-16
    Brenda D 05-16-16

    Bren

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No, just no..."
    What would have made Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) better?

    I lost count of the amount of times I eye rolled through it all and only finished because I have to finish what I start. Just how many jokes can one person make every other sentence before it stops being funny? I lost count there too. Every sentence can't have a punchline, except it did. Just awful. I'm even annoyed having to relive it by writing about it now. Urgh.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Nope. After a few "redeeming" laughs in the very beginning, I quickly lost interest. Too much whining and bitching. No thanks.


    Any additional comments?

    I will be pretending this book never happened to me. I should have taken a clue from the title. Live and learn.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Reader and Listener from Abington Abington PA 05-06-16 Member Since 2013

    Audio Listener

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    I don't know...I heard the author interviewed and thought her stories sounded interesting and funny. But I could not get into this book. I didn't ever laugh, the humor seemed forced, and I didn't like the author's voice or narrative inflections.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura 05-03-16
    Laura 05-03-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    473
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laughed a lot"

    Jenny Lawson's mind works in strange and funny ways. The book is a bit long, but most parts were very entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.