Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,313
  • 4 Stars
    1,307
  • 3 Stars
    669
  • 2 Stars
    326
  • 1 Stars
    335

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,477
  • 4 Stars
    948
  • 3 Stars
    479
  • 2 Stars
    244
  • 1 Stars
    335

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,999
  • 4 Stars
    1,236
  • 3 Stars
    611
  • 2 Stars
    307
  • 1 Stars
    329
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Wish I could return this one

Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

No

Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

No

How could the performance have been better?

The performance was fine.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

I am not opposed to crude humor but this seemed to go no where and was pointless. I don't generally give negative reviews...if you can't say something nice...right? This was a waste.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVE Jenny LAWSON!!!

So much fun to hear Jenny share her stories. I own at least three copies of everything she has published.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thought MY wife was crazy

Gives me a new appreciation for my wife. I thought she was the most bat shit crazy woman on the planet but boy was I wrong. I enjoyed her stories and it was read well. A married woman who's a little temperamental would love this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome

I was looking for a funny book to read. and this was it. I loved it once it got into it. so funny and omg she is so wakey and Corley. defantly one of my favorites.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

fun

really enjoyed 90% of the book. not a fan of singing the chapter titles though
Enjoyed it so much I bought her second Book. Furiously Happy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Celebrate the Strange and Giving Thanks to the Bizarre

This is the 2nd time listening and I'll enjoy coming back to it and anything else Lawson says to bring little BRIGHT to otherwise dull days.

I Don't Hike and I was Just Out Looking for Dead Bodies -


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Get this audio book!

I cannot recommend this book enough! While talking mental health family living work while making me cry laugh so much! Jenny Lawson is truly fantastic!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I need more stars for the review!

Jenny (not Jinny) Lawson is hilarious! Get the audiobook... nobody could perform it as well!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny and honest but occasionally grating

I'm a fan of the Bloggess and put aside her second book to listen to this one. I enjoy her voice (literal and figurative) but I dread the end of each chapter because she sings the title of each new chapter loudly and deliberately off-key. When I'm listening to the book aloud and a new chapter starts, I cringe and wait for my husband to ask what the heck I'm listening to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awsome!

I just love her. Put a bird on it. Well a notarized copy of a bird on it.