Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3,087
  • 4 Stars
    1,241
  • 3 Stars
    634
  • 2 Stars
    314
  • 1 Stars
    320

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3,244
  • 4 Stars
    902
  • 3 Stars
    456
  • 2 Stars
    235
  • 1 Stars
    322

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,798
  • 4 Stars
    1,177
  • 3 Stars
    579
  • 2 Stars
    294
  • 1 Stars
    311
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

Any additional comments?

Oh, I do so adore The Bloggess! She has the most amazingly twisted and wonderful way of looking at the world that I’ve ever encountered. And since the audiobook is narrated by the woman herself, it makes the book that much better. She swears! She screams! She has silly asides! And to cap it all off, she has out-takes at the end! My only problem listening to this book is that I listen while I’m driving (I should have known better, probably), and there were several times I feared for my life, driving down the road with tears streaming, face contorted in laughter, afraid I’d crash the car at any moment. She’s just that damned funny. BUY THIS AUDIOBOOK!

49 of 53 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Cute story, light entertainment.

Jenny's no Sarah Vowell or Tina Fey but the story is an enjoyable romp through her life. Not a rib splitter but rather a light, easy story with some fun and humorous interludes. This is one of those books that I can't imagine being read by other than the author and Jenny does a fine job of narration. I'd give it a 3.5 overall if that were allowed.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • colleen
  • ANCHORAGE, AK, United States
  • 04-18-12

Brand new fan

Super fun, bright and refreshing. Jenny Lawson is like your best friend/alter ego with no filter, ADHD and a blogging problem who says the things that you are embarrassed to even think about. I loved every minute of it.

46 of 55 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • BostonMom
  • Needham, MA, United States
  • 04-29-12

Actually, not for fans of Sedaris and Fey

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I *really* wanted to like this book. Maybe diehard devotees of Jenny Lawson's blog might like it more than I. I thought some of her essays were great, but couldn't stand an entire book of her. It was just... too forced.

Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

No.

Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

Probably not.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I would have trimmed a lot from the book as a whole. Jenny is witty and touching, but her sarcasm and schtick wore thin on me after the first half of the book. Her journey of self-awareness feels contrived and forced--- as if her editor told her that she had to summarize what she learned and how she grew from each anecdote. Her essay about miscarriage and living with chronic illness was really powerful and moving. Her father is fascinating, as is her upbringing. I would have liked to hear more about her parents.<br/><br/>And whoever told her to SING the chapter titles should be fired. That was just cringe-inducing.

80 of 97 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Q.
  • 04-17-12

Like Mother Teresa, but better!

If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

Unicorn Success Club

What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I can recite the whole thing from memory.

Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

I'm gonna have to go with her performance of Jenny Lawson, aka "the Bloggess." She nailed it.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I'm actually legally dead, having died of laughter. In lieu of flowers, buy this book.

Any additional comments?

This book is funnier than the Bible.

69 of 85 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • heidikeala
  • Lancaster, Ohio, United States
  • 12-06-12

Dont buy! Teenage level thoughts and voice. Waste!

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Adult perspective and storytelling abilities on her good childhood stories.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The characters from her childhood could make a good story if their stories were told by someone who could tell a good story. She sounded like an immature, disrespectful, ungrateful 14-year-old bitching about her life. Listening to this is more annoying than entertaining. It's like someone knew she had good stories and told her she should write a book. She should have hired a writer.

How could the performance have been better?

Had a more advanced narrator and a different book.

What character would you cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

Jenny Lawson

Any additional comments?

Not worth publishing!!!!! $20 I'll never see again! Big disappointment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I Was Totally Charmed By This Wacky Memoir

Jenny Lawson had me from the moment she started in on her rural Texas childhood with a demented taxidermist father and a mysterious &quot;pet&quot; called Stanley the Magical Squirrel. Anyone who's spent any time around a dysfunctional family will appreciate Jenny's harrowing tales of Thanksgiving disasters, rattlesnakes, bickering with her husband about zombies, and fending off vultures with a machete. I loved this on audio quite a bit more than in print; I was totally charmed by her wacky singing of chapter headings and her ad libbed demands for &quot;more cowbell! This recording needs more cowbell!&quot;

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Compares to the likes of Sedaris? No

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Let me say this. I like Ellen, this book would be like listening to Ellen's type of jokes non stop for hours and hours. You do not know what is real, what is not. Those types of jokes are funny and clever in small doses (like what Ellen does), but hours and hours of that? I gave up 1/2 hour in the book.

What was most disappointing about Jenny Lawson’s story?

The book is all over the place like a butterfly in a wind storm.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Jenny Lawson?

Jenny has a pleasant voice, she started off well, then it seems like she needed to drink some water and never reached for a glass. Her speaking became very labored, and literally "dry" I kept thinking, please pause and get a drink of water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So not David Sedaris

What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

It's the shtick of all the cutesy asides to the listener, in a voice that grates on the nerves.<br/>Sorry.

Would you recommend Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to your friends? Why or why not?

No. Could have been funnier with editing and someone else reading it.

Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

no.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

She has some great material, minus the shtick and her voice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Author/narrator is annoying and self absorbed

The events that Lawson writes about are indeed funny, but the way that she writes and narrates is chatty and annoying. If her running commentry was edited out it might be ok.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful