We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Heads in Beds Audiobook

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business, revealing the crazy yet compelling reality of an industry we think we know. It is an incredibly funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life and boy, is there a market for it: in 2010, the American lodging industry generated $127.7 billion in revenue. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on the valet parking garage, and the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets.

Prepare to be moved, too, by his insightful honesty about the profession; employees are often poorly paid and frequently abused. However, Heads in Beds is more than just a memoir. Jake explains the secrets of the industry, offering easy and legal ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle - from scoring late check-ins and upgrades to getting that pay-per-view charge knocked off your bill. This book will give you the knowledge you need to get the very best service from any hotel or property, from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, it will keep the bellhops from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and stomping the crap out of it.

©2012 Jacob Tomsky (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"Jacob Tomsky is a star. The kid writes like a dream. Heads in Beds is hilarious, literate, canny, indignant and kind - revealing an author who manages somehow to be both a total hustler and a complete humanitarian. I love this book. Keep an eye on this writer. I'm telling you, he's a star." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (730 )
5 star
 (368)
4 star
 (212)
3 star
 (103)
2 star
 (36)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.2 (666 )
5 star
 (330)
4 star
 (197)
3 star
 (90)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (12)
Story
4.3 (669 )
5 star
 (368)
4 star
 (194)
3 star
 (76)
2 star
 (23)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Vu Manh Ha France 12-11-16
    Vu Manh Ha France 12-11-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Truyly entertaining"
    Any additional comments?

    Have fun listening to this. Tom give a ton of tips, he perform so well. Only regret is I wish he could experience other department like sale and marketing, banquet,...
    Overall this is a must read in this category.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adam 11-14-16
    Adam 11-14-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "perfect description of a FD agent job"

    everyone listening will learn how not to be a dick. this book perfectly explains what life is like at the FD and explains how those stupid comments guest always like to make affects your stay.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anna Popov 11-06-16
    Anna Popov 11-06-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I was once a Ginger Smith"

    having spent quite a bit of time at luxury hotels, I'm just relieved that I comported myself properly when dealing with the staff! more, more please Tom Jacobs!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    G 10-11-16
    G 10-11-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny and obscured"

    Funny at first. As a hospitality worker I found a connection with this story right away. Unfortunately the author takes to ranting and shovels out profanities so much I couldn't really enjoy it. There is some value here but the author's voice diminishes it greatly for me. I did recommend this to some of my co-workers who enjoyed it way more than I did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlena 10-06-16
    Charlena 10-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED it!"

    I laughed so hard on so may parts of this book. GREAT story telling, I felt like I was there. Some pretty awesome tips were included too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shane Murphy 10-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    Overall
    "finished in two sittings"

    highly entertaining, could not stop listening. chose it over the Internet.
    listen to this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom 09-07-16
    Tom 09-07-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great performance!"

    The author was a hillarious story teller. Great road trip book and great tips for serious travellers.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yari Pagani Clermont 07-27-16
    Yari Pagani Clermont 07-27-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good"

    to the point. really good. ,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. A. Jones 07-06-16
    M. A. Jones 07-06-16

    Philly girl

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you've EVER stayed in a hotel..."

    This highly entertaining book gives a good insight into the machinations behind a hotel's front desk. The narrator, who is also the author, does a terrific job of moving it along and making you want to find out what the heck could happen next. Educational as well as amazing, he lets you know what you should never do, plus what you can get away with. Fast paced and fun, this book gets a strong recommendation from me. Give it a try!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan BEAVERTON, OR, United States 07-01-16
    Ryan BEAVERTON, OR, United States 07-01-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good audiobook about hotels, lots of insider info"

    Interesting tale of someone who worked in several departments of luxury/business hotels in New Orleans and New York -- from valet to housekeeping management to front desk. Some good content for frequent hotel guests seeking to maximize their experience (and learn more about the processes and politics within the hotel).

    The audiobook is particularly good, as it was read by the author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.