Battlemage

Narrated by: Matt Addis
Series: Age of Darkness, Book 1
Length: 15 hrs and 53 mins
4 out of 5 stars (209 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone. Animals have nothing interesting to say, and no one can see the future because it has not been written," growled Balfruss. "It's dangerous to meddle with things you don't understand. When you fight magic with magic, nothing is certain."

Balfruss is a battlemage, one of a vanishing breed, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears and despises him.

Vargus is a soldier, and while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he's down in the frontlines getting blood on his blade.

Talandra is a princess and her father's spymaster, but the war may force her to take up a greater responsibility and make the greatest sacrifice of all.

Known for their unpredictable, dangerous power, society has left battlemages untrained and shunned. But when a force unlike anything ever imagined attacks their home, the few remaining magic users must go to war - to save those who fear them most and herald in a new age of peace, built upon the corpses of their enemies.

©2015 Stephen Aryan (P)2015 Hachette Audio
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hung on every word. . .

As an avid audio book listener and lover of the epic fantasy genre, it's not often I find a gem like this book. Not only was the tale enthralling, but it was well put together, the characters were amazing, and it was action packed, thrilling, with a side of sexy.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great for fans of Song of Fire and Ice

great story, very compelling and excellent performance. would definitely read again and already have the next book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Magic is an afterthought in this story.

If you are looking for an adventure involving magic and well thought out magic mechanics, look elsewhere. Too many unnecessary characters that don't advance the story line. It's just boring.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

So what?

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Create a point to it all. It is boring because I just don't care about the characters or what happens to them.

Any additional comments?

Long and tedious. Can't recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstating :)

If you could sum up Battlemage in three words, what would they be?

Magic andddddd Fireball (Clan wars) blah blah blah

What other book might you compare Battlemage to and why?

Don't know

Which scene was your favorite?

The end with the epic battle

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Lose of friends

Any additional comments?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-24-16

Very gritty magic

Good book, amazing voice actor. Maybe a bit of gore glorification, but I get why. Imparts the brutality of war and magic well.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aaron
  • Aaron
  • 09-19-16

Had its moments, but a little bland.

Firstly the narration was quite good, a little monotone at times, but didn't detract from the story.

Story was ok, but there was really only a few moments when something actually happened. Instead I had to listen to what I assume is setup for the next book. The problem with this is that only a couple of characters are interesting because they are the only ones really involved in any action.

I just felt like the author had an idea for a good ending and the whole book was just about getting there, with very little happening in between.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 08-25-17

Gods, mages, soldiers and war

A good blend of mad ruler and his sorcerer who want to take over the world, gods in disguise, kings, queens, mages and ordinary soldiers each with their own piece of the story. An enjoyable listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. A. J. Gallagher
  • Mr. A. J. Gallagher
  • 07-21-17

Excellent Narrator

An enjoyable listen. I think my enjoyment of the story was enhanced by the narrator.
Not the cleanest story, but I'm willing to forgive a first entry for an author as the ideas were good. Though it does reduce its re-listen value.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gareth
  • Gareth
  • 04-29-17

great find

really enjoyed this book, both the story and the narration. very quickly got into it and found it difficult to stop listening. looking forward to the next book in the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mikhail
  • Mikhail
  • 04-26-17

Amazing book! Dialogue was perfect! On to book 2!

This was an amazing book to listen to. Dialogue was quite enjoyable and so can't wait to start book 2 in the series!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 12-18-16

Excellent experience

First chapter was excellent then it lost me for a few but I persevered and the story gathered pace and the last few chapters were very engaging. 4 5 stars rounded up, it would feel petty not to award 5 stars for how much I enjoyed the story come the end of the book.
Have heard many talented voice actors on Audible but this guy's range, ability and depth was for me incredible and the best voice actor I've heard. No-one paid or sponsored me for this review, I just very much enjoyed it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard McFerran
  • Richard McFerran
  • 06-09-18

Great book, great narration

I chose this book because it was narrated by Matt Addis, I find a good narrator is a must when it comes to fiction.

It was a very good choice, I was engaged from start to finish and the descriptive style of the author combined with first class narration brought the story alive.

I will be working my way through the series...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 05-02-18

Great story and well narrated

Thoroughly enjoyed this first book in the trilogy. A great story with plenty of action and intrigue.
I found the pace of the narrator perfect and (although some characters are pretty similar), his characters are really well done. Matt manages to instill plenty of atmosphere, drama and urgency without just talking faster like many readers do. Very well done!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Craig Collier
  • Craig Collier
  • 10-31-17

great listen

Really enjoyed this book. easy to listen to, well narrated and good story. I look forward to the next books.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nihal
  • Nihal
  • 06-26-17

alright story.

good performance, the story was alright nothing special and the characters were okay. may be the next book will be better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex
  • Alex
  • 08-16-16

awsome

easy to listen to and love the concepts. I think suited to younger readers but all in all loved it

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachael
  • Rachael
  • 07-14-16

A great read

I really liked this book, from the beginning something was always happening. I'm wondering if that is due to its shorter length compared to my previous reads. I also really enjoyed Matts narrating, his voice seemed to fit so perfectly with my image of the different characters