Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts - even as she falls in love with a faerie prince - in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love - and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: For the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

©2017 Margaret Rogerson (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    232
  • 4 Stars
    123
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    272
  • 4 Stars
    107
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    113
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

felt empty and landed flat

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

loved the whole concept of this story but...

I absolutly loved the whole concept of this story, its just the kind of whimsical fairy tale I enjoy reading! However, parts of it will have you rolling your eyes, the love story was very rushed and not complelty believable to me, but other than that I really enjoyed the story, and the preformace was excellent. Well worth the time! I just wish it was longer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I don’t know where to start...

I bought this book because in a few reviews it was compared to Sarah J. Maas’ books. It in no way compares. It’s a story without depth and character development. I will say it is one of the best first person stories I’ve read, but that is because of her writing style not the content. It has an interesting perspective on fey. It is supposed to be about the human condition and emotions, but falls short of what it advertises. Please listen to the reviews on this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

i hope there is more

I really enjoyed this book. I held it forever thinking it was going to be too "mushy" but really there is a great balance of action, character building, and romance.
Really interesting characters and the Fae are right on target for my taste. Totally inhuman, cruel, and tricky.
The world building descriptions where beautiful and it was similar to other Fae stores but unique to this story as well.
I enjoyed the narrator with the vast array of voices performed.
I really was hooked right away.
I do hope there is more from this author in this world.

Yes, there is a skip in the recording.

If you like Fae stories that get a little dark this one is worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

Fantastic story brought alive by very talented voice actress. I purchased this book after reading Black Witch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Read!

I haven’t listened to a book that I loved this much in a very very long time. It is an excellent portrayal of Faeries and their mischief and is supported by a wonderfully written, colorful cast of characters. Add on top of that a well paced, well written plot line, and richly Illustrated environments, and you will be in love . I never take the time to write full reviews, but this book is an exception. Julia Whelan does an excellent job narrating, and with such a rich storyline, it was easy for me to fall into the book. I am definitely recommending this book, and I am excited to see what Margaret Rogerson comes up with next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

stunning novel glad I picked it up

such a great listen to only wish that it was longer. Really enjoyed each character as an individual. Not a huge Fairy fan so to have devoured this was huge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bleeding hearts of the world unite

it was slightly better than what I expected.
A young adult heart throb kind of book.
I like the audible, but not enough to buy the physical book.it was more like giving it a 3.7 star.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Super creative

This book surprised me. I probably wouldn’t have read it if not for the glowing recommendations of some Goodreads friends I trust because mainstream YA disappoints and/or irritates me just as often as anything else. Imagine my happy surprise when I found myself truly enjoying the well-crafted world and interesting characters.

There are lots of different takes out there on the nature of faerie beings (a.k.a. fairies, fair ones, fair folk, etc.). An Enchantment of Ravens focuses on the dangerous side like you find in folklore, then adds twists that makes them feel fresh and new. I was fascinated by the way the author made it so that craft of any kind is deadly to the fair ones to the point that they are dependent on humans for such things as new clothes, art, etc. This gives basis for the uneasy relationship between the humans and the fair ones and thus sets up the story for our young human heroine who paints portraits for faerie clients.

I don’t want to get into too much detail about the story and spoil people, but suffice it to say that the author did an excellent job of making the faerie courts and the fair ones themselves so very OTHER that it made me feel like I was truly transported to other worlds. I loved the drama (that ending was EPIC!!!), the twists, the turns, and I generally liked our hero and heroine. I liked Rook’s complexity and his backstory, and I enjoyed his and Isobel’s dynamic together. Isobel was also a good character and I appreciated her sense of humor, spunkiness, wit, and her refreshing attitude about certain things that I can’t detail because, again, spoilers. :P

The main issue I had with the lead characters is the main issue I have with many mainstream YA romantic leads (as well as part of the reason I took off a star)…It didn’t take long to get them to push physical boundaries with a heavy make-out section that very nearly resulted in them having. To their credit, this only happened once and they showed more restraint after that, but still. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Seeing how close you can get to “the line” without actually crossing it is not something that books need to romanticize for young, immature readers who, by nature of having brains that are not yet fully developed, already struggle with forethought and self-control. That's my opinion, and I'm sticking with it.

Anyway. The other reason I took off a star is because of the profanity that, while infrequent, did not (in my opinion) fit the tone of the story, and I just plain don’t like hearing/reading profanity and find it unnecessary.

Other than those two things, though, I did enjoy this book a lot and I think the author is very creative and has a talent for writing beautiful, lyrical prose. I will keep an eye out for her future books.