Your audiobook is waiting…

The Bone Houses

Narrated by: Moira Quirk
Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
Categories: Teens, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (80 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as "bone houses", and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairytale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first minute.

©2019 Emily Lloyd-Jones (P)2019 Little, Brown Young Readers

Critic Reviews

"The Bone Houses is an atmospheric and enthralling tale about life after death that mixes thoughtful characterization with whimsy, horror, and a dash of magic. Emily Lloyd-Jones instantly transports you to a northern Wales of old where the dead rise and legends may turn out to be histories. It pulled me -- and every bone I possess -- in from the start and refused to loosen its hold. It's a book best consumed with the lights on and a hand to hold. You'll definitely need them!" (Kalie Young, Barns & Noble at the Grove, LA)

"Throw excellent world-building, action-packed prose, and incredible representation for chronic pain into a cauldron, and you'll get The Bone Houses, a masterclass on the epic journey archetype with plenty of surprises in store." (Sami Thomason, Square Books)

"A dark, mesmerizing fairytale reminiscent of the Grimm Brothers, the Brontes, and Neil Gaiman in turn. The Bone Houses is a haunting and hypnotic novel that I drank deeply and savored. Emily Lloyd-Jones is an author who should be on everyone's radar." (Mackenzi Lee, NYT best-selling author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Obessed with it!

It captured me from the beginning & kept me till the end. I thought it well done, to the detriment of my house work till I finished it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read for Halloween!

🐐🐐🐐🐐🤣🤣❤❤
goat
bone
house
love
strong
wild woman
wine via tower top
A cursed forest

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just saying

The goat is my favorite character. I mean, they’re all great, but the goat is the best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely Read

I really enjoyed this booked. A beautiful song and dance between life and death. All the good, bad, loving and devastating parts of both. The drama was believable and simple yet kept me engaged. Nothing about any of the character/relationship developments felt forced at all. I've been looking for a good stand alone story and this was a great one. Thanks to OwlCrate!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise loves books
  • Louise loves books
  • 11-17-19

Amazing

This is an amazing audiobook. Love love love it. This needs to be read by everyone.