Your audiobook is waiting…

An Enchantment of Ravens

Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
4 out of 5 stars (475 ratings)
Regular price: $17.00
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts - even as she falls in love with a faerie prince - in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love - and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: For the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

©2017 Margaret Rogerson (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    128
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    285
  • 4 Stars
    111
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    86
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

felt empty and landed flat

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

loved the whole concept of this story but...

I absolutly loved the whole concept of this story, its just the kind of whimsical fairy tale I enjoy reading! However, parts of it will have you rolling your eyes, the love story was very rushed and not complelty believable to me, but other than that I really enjoyed the story, and the preformace was excellent. Well worth the time! I just wish it was longer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

i hope there is more

I really enjoyed this book. I held it forever thinking it was going to be too "mushy" but really there is a great balance of action, character building, and romance.
Really interesting characters and the Fae are right on target for my taste. Totally inhuman, cruel, and tricky.
The world building descriptions where beautiful and it was similar to other Fae stores but unique to this story as well.
I enjoyed the narrator with the vast array of voices performed.
I really was hooked right away.
I do hope there is more from this author in this world.

Yes, there is a skip in the recording.

If you like Fae stories that get a little dark this one is worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

Fantastic story brought alive by very talented voice actress. I purchased this book after reading Black Witch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Read!

I haven’t listened to a book that I loved this much in a very very long time. It is an excellent portrayal of Faeries and their mischief and is supported by a wonderfully written, colorful cast of characters. Add on top of that a well paced, well written plot line, and richly Illustrated environments, and you will be in love . I never take the time to write full reviews, but this book is an exception. Julia Whelan does an excellent job narrating, and with such a rich storyline, it was easy for me to fall into the book. I am definitely recommending this book, and I am excited to see what Margaret Rogerson comes up with next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

stunning novel glad I picked it up

such a great listen to only wish that it was longer. Really enjoyed each character as an individual. Not a huge Fairy fan so to have devoured this was huge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bleeding hearts of the world unite

it was slightly better than what I expected.
A young adult heart throb kind of book.
I like the audible, but not enough to buy the physical book.it was more like giving it a 3.7 star.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great narration, boring story

The narration is fantastic with several levels and tones. Unfortunately the story is so boring I could barely stand to finish it. Character development is good but the story is very slow...

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carin
  • San Joaquin County
  • 02-22-19

beautiful story

I have heard that this was basically a ripoff of a Court of thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass but honestly other than a few similarities about the main character that was really nothing about the two stories that were like I enjoy the court of thorns and roses a bit more but the story was still enjoyable