Veronica Speedwell Mysteries

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 6,059 ratings

A Curious Beginning Publisher's Summary

London, 1887. As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a sharpened hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England now gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime. But fate has other plans, as Veronica discovers when she thwarts her own abduction with the help of an enigmatic German baron with ties to her mysterious past. Promising to reveal in time what he knows of the plot against her, the baron offers her temporary sanctuary in the care of his friend Stoker - a reclusive natural historian as intriguing as he is bad-tempered. But before the baron can deliver on his tantalizing vow to reveal the secrets he has concealed for decades, he is found murdered. Suddenly Veronica and Stoker are forced to go on the run from an elusive assailant, wary partners in search of the villainous truth.

©2015 Deanna Raybourn (P)2015 Recorded Books
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • A Curious Beginning

    • By: Deanna Raybourn
    • Narrated by: Angele Masters
    • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,978
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,647
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,639

    As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • For fans of Elizabeth Peters and Gail Carriger

    • By L. Williams on 06-29-16

    Regular price: $27.99

  • Book 2

    • A Perilous Undertaking

    • By: Deanna Raybourn
    • Narrated by: Angele Masters
    • Length: 12 hrs and 25 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,394
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,304
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,305

    Victorian adventuress and butterfly hunter Veronica Speedwell receives an invitation to visit the Curiosity Club, a ladies-only establishment for daring and intrepid women. There she meets the mysterious Lady Sundridge, who begs her to take on an impossible task - saving society art patron Miles Ramsforth from execution. Accused of the brutal murder of his artist mistress Artemisia, Ramsforth will face the hangman's noose in a week's time if Veronica cannot find the real killer. But Lady Sundridge is not all that she seems.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • What sex? No where is anyone actually having sex.

    • By sonia on 06-13-17

    Regular price: $27.99

  • Book 3

    • A Treacherous Curse

    • By: Deanna Raybourn
    • Narrated by: Angele Masters
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 687
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 635
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 635

    London, 1888. As colorful and unfettered as the butterflies she collects, Victorian adventuress Veronica Speedwell can't resist the allure of an exotic mystery - particularly one involving her enigmatic colleague, Stoker. His former expedition partner has vanished from an archaeological dig with a priceless diadem unearthed from the newly discovered tomb of an Egyptian princess. This disappearance is just the latest in a string of unfortunate events that have plagued the controversial expedition, and rumors abound that the curse of the vengeful princess has been unleashed as the shadowy figure of Anubis himself stalks the streets of London.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Has this series reached its limit? For me it has.

    • By scott on 04-06-18

    Regular price: $27.99