Little Old Lady

6 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 112 ratings

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules Publisher's Summary

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous, and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle.

Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause an uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old-aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off...

Perfect for fans of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

©2012 Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg (P)2013 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules

    • By: Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
    • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
    • Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 6

    The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous, and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle. Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Boring

    • By Kim Hannan on 11-18-17

    Regular price: $22.71

    • The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules

    • A Novel
    • By: Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
    • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
    • Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 90
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 83
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 82

    Martha Andersson may be 79 years old and live in a retirement home, but that doesn't mean she's ready to stop enjoying life. So when the new management of Diamond House starts cutting corners to save money, Martha and her four closest friends - The Genius, The Rake, Christina, and Anna-Gretta (aka the League of Pensioners) - won't stand for it. Fed up with early bedtimes and overcooked veggies, this group of feisty seniors sets about to regain their independence, improve their lot, and stand up for seniors everywhere.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Interesting possibilities. Terrible narration.

    • By Linda on 02-17-17

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 2

    • The Little Old Lady Who Struck Lucky Again!

    • By: Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
    • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
    • Length: 12 hrs and 11 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 9
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars 8
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 8

    The little old lady is back! This time, Martha Andersson and her friends - the League of Pensioners - have left behind their dreary care home in Stockholm and are enjoying the bright lights of Las Vegas. This is their opportunity for a new lease of life and they plan to make the most of it. But before long, they are up to their old tricks and with ingenious tactics, a pair of false teeth and a wheelchair each, they plot to outwit the security system at one of the casinos.

    Regular price: $22.71

    • The Little Old Lady Who Struck Lucky Again!

    • A Novel
    • By: Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
    • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
    • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7

    Martha Andersson and her friends are at it again. Having left behind their restrictive senior home in Stockholm, the gang is off to make it big in the bright lights and big money of The Strip. Armed with electric wheelchairs and some well-placed helium balloons, Martha, The Genius, The Rake, Christina, and Anna-Gretta are ready to take a Vegas casino for all it's worth, cashing in on their new favorite pastime: white-collar crime.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Liked the story but,....

    • By MerrieMe on 10-15-17

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 3

    • The Little Old Lady Behaving Badly

    • Little Old Lady, Book 3
    • By: Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
    • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
    • Length: 13 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    From Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg, the author of the smash hit The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules, comes the third hilarious title in this much-loved series: The Little Old Lady Behaving Badly. Nothing can stop The League of Pensioners, a wily gang of blue-rinsed rebels. They have a plan, and to realize it they are going to need money - lots of money.

    Regular price: $22.71

    • The Little Old Lady Behaving Badly

    • League of Pensioners Series, Book 3
    • By: Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
    • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
    • Length: 13 hrs and 52 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    In the third hilarious installment in internationally best-selling author Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg’s League of Pensioners series, Martha and the League’s latest escapade has them headed for the French Riviera in what is sure to be the most daring caper of the summer. Martha and her friends are sitting comfortably in Sweden… a little too comfortably. Determined to do more for their fellow pensioners - and jazz things up for themselves - they’re up to their usual antics: bank robberies, money laundering, and figuring out how to disappear in a garbage-truck-cum-getaway-car.

    Regular price: $30.79