Your audiobook is waiting…

The Silent Children

Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
Narrated by: Emma Newman
Length: 12 hrs and 52 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (202 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this....

Years later a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed. 

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. Then a woman is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her stepdaughter’s statement makes Robyn wonder: Are the two bodies are connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realizes she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost? 

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbot and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I've listened to most of Carol Wyer 's DI Robyn Carter audiobooks and have enjoyed them. This time, I was annoyed by repeated changes in tense and point of view. Plus, the monotonous narrator who lacks the ability or willingness to expressively differentiate the characters (except for the young child) added little. Everybody pretty much sounded the same, including men and women.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

If you've listened to the other 3, keep going!

Not as heart-racing as the previous titles and the ending wasn't exactly unpredictable, but the case was unique enough and the characters strong enough to keep my interest. Worth it if you've already read/listened to the other 3 before it. The main character's subplot about her dead husband (fiance?) was a great edition and left me wanting more. Hopefully there's a fifth book coming soon.

The narrator fits this series perfectly and does a great job doing a range of voices, especially when having to do men and children. However, some characters do end up sounding similar given how many there are, which can get confusing. And there were a few errors and annoying habits the reader has that made it difficult to listen to at times, predominantly her use of Hard G's on every word containing a G, like "ring-ging" or "rang-geh" instead of ringing and rang. But otherwise very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Barbie does murder

The narration is so annoying a breathless Barbie comes to mind. It may be a very good plot but the narration is awful. I couldn't help but notice many Audio listeners have similar reactions, you'd think the author would get a clue and find someone else! The whole story is ruined because the voice just doesn't sound like a seasoned detective, more like a sex kitten that got the wrong job!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Matthews
  • Lisa Matthews
  • 02-14-18

brilliant!

brilliant! gripping from start to finish! ..Totally recommend this book! can't wait till the next book comes out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Danny fenton
  • Danny fenton
  • 08-18-18

i enjoy the way the perps past runs in parallel.

the way the story is told unfolds in paralel to the history and background of the killer is interesting. this gives quite an interesting insite.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alyh
  • Alyh
  • 06-03-19

enjoyable series.

A good enjoyable series. There is the main plot and a sub plot going through the series. Best to start from the beginning.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs K. L. Hicks
  • Mrs K. L. Hicks
  • 12-10-18

Great series

Great 📙 couldn't put it down love the author going to finsh series then start the new series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Will1888
  • Will1888
  • 08-09-18

New twist

the twist that he is still alive, can't wait for that story and reactions

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gemma
  • Gemma
  • 02-12-18

Don't fall aslep listening!

Would you consider the audio edition of The Silent Children to be better than the print version?

I don' rad print so i can't really answer this question, although, if i could read print i would still opt for audible because listening brings the book to life.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Even though he is not a main character, i Love Ross - the PI, he should be more involved in the books.

What about Emma Newman’s performance did you like?

I enjoy listening to Emma - easy to listen to.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

not really - i was too busy trying to keep up with the story!

Any additional comments?

Overall, a good book - lots of threads to keep up with so i would not reccomment listening to this book before bed, if you fall asleep you will lose the plot!! but please do give it a read, something a little different and enjoyable. 4 stars.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anon
  • Anon
  • 01-23-18

Too many threads :/

Ok but too many threads to follow. I did catchup eventually but it's not a good bedtime book! I hope the next book brings Davis back, we can all relax and sleep then! lol 😉😑😊😲 P.S.. The narrators voice is a bit ''wishy washy'' for a who dunnit story. A bit more emphasis and context needed! 💰🔫🔪"

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • 10-26-18

Developing series

The main reason I have stuck with this series I have to admit is that it is set on home turf. The Derbyshire and East Midland areas where the first 20 years of my life. I was not sure with the first book but with mentions of places I know around a good story line kept me going and I am so happy I did. The storys got better and better, I loved the last book for the story but this one has something a little more clever about it. The way the story is woven, the development fo Robyn's character. I am liking this journey very much and hope others are too. A great job by Carol Wyer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pretty Spiffy
  • Pretty Spiffy
  • 05-18-18

Great Series

I love this series.. each book is linked but not in a way that if you haven't read one if them it makes a difference. I am enjoying the substory within and can't wait for that to be explored more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosemary
  • Rosemary
  • 04-18-18

Another great book

Always kudos you guessing right till the end. I couldn't stop listening. I loved it