Your audiobook is waiting…

The Body on the Shore

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 2
Narrated by: Marston York
Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (211 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A killer is at work in the supposedly safe commuter belt. DCI Gillard needs answers fast.... 

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm. Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: why? 

Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck. As the mystery deepens, Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces - people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children's lives - as well as his own. 

At breakneck pace and with a jaw-dropping twist, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

©2018 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping Unusual & Masterful

Not your usual procedural.Architect shot dead at his desk. Is it a simple hit? What motive? And how is it that it is linked by DNA with a mysterious kidnapping of two orphan children adopted from Albania by a staggeringly wealthy British couple? ingenious plot twists kept me listening far into the night. Then there's that corpse on the beach 200 miles away. Great performance by a masterful narrator who glides effortlessly through regional accents, including English, Albanian, and Italian. An explosive climax, and a bitter afterword see the mystery solved, yet the future so unresolved. Great listen.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Thel
  • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • 03-18-19

The Body on the Shore

This was a fabulous book! Twists and turns - right to the end. Just a minor complaint - I don't think the title of the book is appropriate.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Larry
  • Montara, CA, United States
  • 05-23-19

Fascinating up to a point!

I really enjoyed this book, especially the trip to Albania. The narration was very good with several difficult accents. However, be prepared to suspend disbelief at the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A disappointing sophomore effort.

I absolutely loved the first book in this series and was very excited to get the second, but this book is nowhere near as good as the first. The story is very unrealistic, bordering on the silly. I couldn't wait for it to be over quite frankly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent book and narration.

Nick Louth is an excellent author and delivers another DCI Craig Gillard thriller. Narration good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good story

Another good story, but I wish we would get to know the characters more. We only got to know a little bit more about one character. I’m hoping for a bit more character development in future installments.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh wow, this is a twister

Ever worried about Albanian feuds? You will after reading this one. Moves right along. Good book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gillard vs organized crime

The second one, and I enjoyed it more because I couldn't guess what was going to transpire.
The research that must've gone into this novel ! - mind-boggling. But appreciated. :)
Marston York must avoid a tendency to tell us stuff through intonation: he did this in the first book, too. Remember not to reveal things with your voice, Marston ! Apart from which, he's a terrific narrator, and I shall search out what else he's read.
I now see that Louth's titles are a kind of ... of ... I can't think of how to write what I mean ! They're almost distractions, but not really. Don't go looking for them to be madly relevant, that's all I can say.
It was good to get away from Gillard's office (and especially his no. 2, whose voice is one I can't get accustomed to).
Another listen I did in two sessions (I'm crocheting a lapghan, which is a lot of crochet !) - meaning I was grabbed by this book.
For anyone who enjoys British police crime, this is a beauty !

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well done

This wasn’t my favorite detective novel, but I enjoyed it. The characters were well developed and I haven’t heard the story before.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

x-c-lent!!

kept you on the edge of your seat, all want to do listen. hope therez a follow on

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Judith
  • 04-16-19

Strange storyline

I enjoyed the first in this series, but this one seemed unrelated to book one in most respects. A strange Lithuanian mafia plot? Mmmm? Unsure if I will try another.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Gen
  • 03-14-19

Lots of loose ends and patchy storyline but okay

The narrator was believable for some parts of the book, bit like the story. Research may have been robust but it didn’t feel real or even very possible if it is we should know and be moved It’s peopled with characters I couldn’t care about. But taste comes in to this for me tension wasn’t tense enough, acts that should have engendered hate didn’t .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • hearne
  • 06-21-19

Excellent and mostly enjoyable

Great Story but the the regional accents occasionally seem more important than the story. Tone it down a little and add to the story, stop overpowering it..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dizzietango
  • 06-20-19

Excellent

Excellent, marred only by some strange accents. Looking forward to the next book in the series