adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Christopher Buehlman's The Blacktongue Thief is a voicey-as-hell, standout fantasy debut for fans of Nicholas Eames' Kings of the Wyld and Joe Abercrombie's The Blade Itself

Kinch Na Shannack owes the Takers Guild a small fortune for his education as a thief, which includes (but is not limited to) lock-picking, knife-fighting, wall-scaling, fall-breaking, lie-weaving, trap-making, plus a few small magics. His debt has driven him to lie in wait by the old forest road, planning to rob the next traveler that crosses his path. 

But today, Kinch Na Shannack has picked the wrong mark. 

Galva is a knight, a survivor of the brutal goblin wars, and handmaiden of the goddess of death. She is searching for her queen, missing since a distant northern city fell to giants. 

Unsuccessful in his robbery and lucky to escape with his life, Kinch now finds his fate entangled with Galva's. Common enemies and uncommon dangers force thief and knight on an epic journey where goblins hunger for human flesh, krakens hunt in dark waters, and honor is a luxury few can afford. 

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2021 Christopher Buehlman (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

“Beuhlman's prose floats nimbly from grisly to lyrical and back again, evoking a damaged world that's by turns bleak and starkly beautiful. A fantastical road trip with a hard-boiled sensibility, complete with shape-shifting assassins, murderous kraken and some delightfully gruesome magic.” (A. K. Larkwood, author of The Unspoken Name)

“Wow! Truly outstanding. I can't say enough about how good The Blacktongue Thief is. Damned good stuff.” (Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

“Equal parts fairy tale, D&D adventure, and acid trip. Buehlman has successfully blended the essences of these elements into something at once familiar and fresh. I look forward to returning to this evocative and f*cked up world!” (Jonathan French, author of The Grey Bastards

The Blacktongue Thief is a masterclass in voice and thoughtful world design, with a wonderful cast and a protagonist who grabs you instantly. Fans of Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora will love this one.” (Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names

What listeners say about The Blacktongue Thief

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

This is one of the best books I’ve read or listened to in a very long time. My sole complaint is that it isn’t longer.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

The story is excellent. The telling of the story even better. And the performance (by the author himself) is brilliant.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sings to you, sometimes literally

10 stars. It was captivating, is that the correct word? I would say yes, cause I was drawn in to the prose, not wanting to miss a single word of the narrative, which Buehlman presented with magical skill. I won't stop with the audio, I'll have to get my hands on the written edition, so I can stop and savor. It's that good and so many things: witty, gruesome, clever, fun, ghastly, horrific, gentle, caring, with creatures brought to life that scare the bejeezus out of you (especially the goblins).
I won't go into a narrative of what it's all about, if you love fantasy, especially on the grim dark side with unique characters drawn in to a dangerous quest, that only comes to light at the end of the story, then don't miss this book. I just can't recommend it enough.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Different and Fantastic

Great story , taking you into a world of fantasy, with just enough realistic stew, to get you deep into it. The characters have a great depth to them, and keep you refreshed and entertained from start to finish.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Adventure you'll not want to pause

Powerfully descriptive. Action packed. Gasp worthy secrets revealed. THIS is your new favorite fantasy series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not even done yet and it's 5 stars

Christopher Buehlman blows me away. The creativity involved in this book is incredible. His narration puts you completely in the book. At no time did it distract or take me out of the storyline. Seriously a genius. This should be a classic in the league of LOR. Will be sad when it's finished.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It’s PERFECT.

I’ve never written a review before, but this book was so great I felt I just had to. I loved everything about it. The action starts right away and never stops. Kinch is one of my favorite protagonists of all time. I put him up there with Roland Deschain, and that’s really saying something.

Lastly, Buehlman isn’t just a writer, he’s a true storyteller. He performs this book with perfect timing for everything; suspense, comedy, tragedy, or whatever else the story requires, he reads it exactly as it should be read. I’m thinking here of a particular scene where he sped up his cadence just a tad for comedic effect and so had me laughing out loud in the middle of a quiet office. It was awkward and perfect.

I’m only giving this book 5 starts because I couldn’t give it six. It’s one of the greats.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Only a few hours in and loving it..

This is exactly my niche in the fantasy genre.. akin to Abercrombie with the gritty witty and edge I love. What makes it even more amazing (because we all know a narrator can make a mediocre book good and a good book mediocre), Mr.Buehlmam nails it with a great narrator performance as well of his own writing. I am very impressed and look forward to more! Just please keep writing and don’t pull a GRRM on us please. Five stars hands down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and even better performance!

you can't go wrong here with a clever story told by the talented author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Freaking Brilliant

One of the four or five best audiobooks I've ever heard. It's got everything you want--even things you didn't know you wanted.