• Book of Night

  • By: Holly Black
  • Narrated by: Sara Amini
  • Length: 12 hrs and 33 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (1,932 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Book of Night  By  cover art

Book of Night

By: Holly Black
Narrated by: Sara Amini
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.24

Buy for $20.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

"Award-winning YA author Holly Black has created an imaginary masterpiece yet again with her first foray into adult fantasy, narrated with perfection by Sara Amini." -AudioFile (Earphones Award Winner)

In the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern, #1 NYT bestselling author Holly Black’s stunning new audiobook is a dark fantasy of betrayals and cabals with a dissolute thief of shadows at the center of it all.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie's shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world—all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power

"Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists—a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages." —Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House

"If Neil Gaiman channeled Stephen King, the result might be this book...scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.”— ames Rollins,
New York Times bestselling author of The Starless Crown

“Heart, soul, and a bit of kink—
The Book of Night is smart, decadent fun.”—Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize Finalist

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books.

©2022 Holly Black (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

Interview: Holly Black Appreciates a Good Con

'One of the things that we really like about flawed characters is that we recognize ourselves in them.'
-0.00
  • Book of Night
  • 'One of the things that we really like about flawed characters is that we recognize ourselves in them.'

Editorial Review

Free tips to become a con artist
We know and love Holly Black from her fantasy stories for kids and teens, but Black has upped it a notch with her adult debut in Book of Night. She’s given us an imaginative urban fantasy with a take on shadow magic that feels so familiar as to be not far from our own reality. Our heroine, Charlie, is trying to be a retired thief and con artist, but it’s so hard to stop doing something you’re good at, even when you know it’s not right, isn’t it? Charlie is working as a bartender when her seedy past comes slinking back in the form of a murderous glomist (a shadow-magic wielder). Sara Amini, a fresh voice to audiobooks, thrives as the narrator here, breathing life into Charlie with a slightly smoky voice and sardonic tone. I loved journeying into the middle of this world, and I didn’t want to leave. Holly: a sequel, please! — Melissa B.