Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

There's no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains - and friends or enemies - with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city - a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent - but he's one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who's just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August's secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side - including the monsters within.

©2016 Victoria Schwab (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    126
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    228
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    107
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another triumph

After a slow beginning (about the first hour), the story coalesced and VS wound together terrific characters in a darker than expected tale.

I look forward to the next installment, although this book more than stands on its own.

Highly recommend but steer toward later teens +

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Donna
  • Georgetown, SC United States
  • 09-11-16

Ready for rest of story

Where does This Savage Song rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Top 10

What other book might you compare This Savage Song to and why?

Jax Garren trilogy- Beauty and the Beast

Which character – as performed by Therese Plummer – was your favorite?

August - gentle, compassionate and honest

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Wanting more of the story

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not worth its good reviews

I'm not sure how this book received so many five-star ratings and such positive reviews. There was hardly any story and the characters were forgettable. I suppose the overall concept was somewhat interesting but in some ways it was also cheesy. The main monster uses a violin as a "weapon". lame. I guess for a book aimed at teen-agers, it works, but then why did the author decide halfway through the boom to start throwing out so many f-bombs and other profanities for no reason. The writing was OK at best, and the audible narrator got a little too emotional at times, but I made it through to the end. I don't care about what happens next and won't read the second book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unique world, beautiful writing!

What did you love best about This Savage Song?

The writing and the world.

Would you recommend This Savage Song to your friends? Why or why not?

I would! I thought the writing was absolutely fantastic! The characters felt a little bland though.

Which scene was your favorite?

The scene where August plays his Violin.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

"welcome death with a song."

Any additional comments?

I gave the story 3.5 stars, but since Audible doesn't allow half stars, it will show as just a 3

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Thrilling story

From the beginning i was drawn into this story of monsters and humans. Well done!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

First Audiobook

The narration was amazing and the story was good too. I was definitely more interested in the plot than the characters. This was my first audiobook and I think this will be my last. Nothing against the story or performance but audiobooks prevent me from getting the actually story. My mind will wander for a second and I just missed a quick death scene. Also maybe this is why I connected with the characters less than I hoped. Who knows?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing

This book and very captivating. it was very unpredictably in every way possible. loved it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing Story, Great Performance

Schwab is one of my favorite authors and this book shows the height of talent. The performance is dramatic and fun--a must listen.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

No need to overdo it

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

If you're tastes are anything like mine, I wouldn't expect you to enjoy this at all. I'm not a fan of the YA genre but since this book was so hyped I expected to like it at least a little. As it turns out. I didnt enjoy the plot and the narration and honestly the world wasn't built up well enough for my liking and neither were the characters.

What do you think your next listen will be?

I am probably going to avoid listening to any YA at least for my next read. I've been looking into books on feminism so I will be headed in that direction.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

The narrator was one of my biggest problems with this book. She reading/acting was just way too over board for my liking. I know putting emotions and feeling into narration is important for an audiobook reader, but heavy breathing and panting and unnecessary sounds when you're just narrating the plot is not only irritating but takes away from the entire story.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

No it didn't excite me enough nor did I like the characters.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great book

reread this for the release of the second one and now I not sure how book two would hold up