Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

There's no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains - and friends or enemies - with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city - a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent - but he's one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who's just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August's secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side - including the monsters within.

©2016 Victoria Schwab (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    216
  • 4 Stars
    147
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    256
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    122
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another triumph

After a slow beginning (about the first hour), the story coalesced and VS wound together terrific characters in a darker than expected tale.

I look forward to the next installment, although this book more than stands on its own.

Highly recommend but steer toward later teens +

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not worth its good reviews

I'm not sure how this book received so many five-star ratings and such positive reviews. There was hardly any story and the characters were forgettable. I suppose the overall concept was somewhat interesting but in some ways it was also cheesy. The main monster uses a violin as a "weapon". lame. I guess for a book aimed at teen-agers, it works, but then why did the author decide halfway through the boom to start throwing out so many f-bombs and other profanities for no reason. The writing was OK at best, and the audible narrator got a little too emotional at times, but I made it through to the end. I don't care about what happens next and won't read the second book.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Donna
  • Georgetown, SC United States
  • 09-11-16

Ready for rest of story

Where does This Savage Song rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Top 10

What other book might you compare This Savage Song to and why?

Jax Garren trilogy- Beauty and the Beast

Which character – as performed by Therese Plummer – was your favorite?

August - gentle, compassionate and honest

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Wanting more of the story

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unique world, beautiful writing!

What did you love best about This Savage Song?

The writing and the world.

Would you recommend This Savage Song to your friends? Why or why not?

I would! I thought the writing was absolutely fantastic! The characters felt a little bland though.

Which scene was your favorite?

The scene where August plays his Violin.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

"welcome death with a song."

Any additional comments?

I gave the story 3.5 stars, but since Audible doesn't allow half stars, it will show as just a 3

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A fantastic story

Written like an elegant symphony, This Savage Song is the story of two people thrown together as a war between monsters and humans threatens to ravage the city.

I loved Kate and August, each of them brought to life by the author and the narrator. They're total opposites, but they work well together. I especially loved August's determination to be strong and good, despite being a monster.

Full of twists and turns, fans of supernatural, urban fantasy, or gritty fantasy won't be able to get enough of This Savage Song.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

3.5 Stars

Would you try another book from Victoria Schwab and/or Therese Plummer?

Yes.

Any additional comments?

3.5 stars - I enjoyed this book overall, but I wasn’t obsessed or head-over-heels in love.

The world was interesting and had unique concepts. The two main characters were entertaining. I appreciated that there was one male and one female. What I appreciated even more was the opposites that they were both living. August was a monster, trying to be human. Kate was a human, trying to behave like a monster—or at the very least, behave more monstrous than the average human.

There were lots opposites at play in this book that I really enjoyed. Monsters couldn’t lie, but humans could. Monsters were most dangerous at nighttime and most vulnerable during the day; humans were the opposite. August’s adoptive dad was more of a father to him than Kate’s biological dad was a father to her. I’m sure there’s more, but I’ll move on.

I enjoyed how different Kate was from other YA main female characters. Her theme was a typical one—trying to fit in, to belong, to be seen as good enough for something or in someone else’s eyes—but her circumstances (trying to fit in to her mobster-like family) and the way she was trying to accomplish her goal was definitely unique. It was intriguing, refreshing and entertaining.
Now to show some love to August. He was really relatable—funny that the more relatable main character was the monster instead of the human! He had some of the most beautiful lines too and I definitely enjoyed his revelations at the end. It was somewhat poetic. I can’t wait to see how his character grows and develops in the second book.

Some plot twists I saw coming, others I didn’t. The story definitely went in directions that I hadn’t exactly been anticipating. For example, there was no romance, like I had been expecting to see. I’m not sure how I feel about the fact that there was no romance... Part of me is sad at the missed potential sub-plot. The other part of me is happy that the author didn’t take the usual YA route and have the main characters fall in love. It would have taken away from all of the other goals the main characters were accomplishing. It probably would have felt unnatural and forced considering August and Kate’s backgrounds. I’m torn. Maybe it’ll develop in the second book. I think I would actually appreciate the romance more if it happened in the second book, since it would have more groundwork laid and feel more organic.

I enjoyed the fact that world-building wasn’t accomplished via a big info dump and I absolutely LOVED the monster song that everyone kept bringing up. It was creative, unique, perfectly placed and definitely helpful. Overall though, I found the world-building to be a little weaker than I wanted it to be. The concepts were really cool, so I wish it had stronger world-building happening.

I’ll be continuing the series!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Thrilling story

From the beginning i was drawn into this story of monsters and humans. Well done!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

First Audiobook

The narration was amazing and the story was good too. I was definitely more interested in the plot than the characters. This was my first audiobook and I think this will be my last. Nothing against the story or performance but audiobooks prevent me from getting the actually story. My mind will wander for a second and I just missed a quick death scene. Also maybe this is why I connected with the characters less than I hoped. Who knows?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing

This book and very captivating. it was very unpredictably in every way possible. loved it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing Story, Great Performance

Schwab is one of my favorite authors and this book shows the height of talent. The performance is dramatic and fun--a must listen.