Regular price: $25.20

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Alaska, 1970. Being a teenager here isn't like being a teenager anywhere else.

This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's last frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home - until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other - and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Narrator cast list:

  • Ruth read by Jorjeana Marie
  • Dora read by Erin Tripp
  • Alyce read by Karissa Vacker
  • Hank read by Robbie Daymond

©2016 Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"...this is an exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock's measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world." ( Booklist)
"Using alternating narratives, debut novelist Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating. The gutsiness of these four teens who, at heart, are trying to find their places in the world and survive against challenging odds, will resonate with readers of all ages." ( Publishers Weekly)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not put it down

Wonderful compelling story weaving. I enjoyed the intensity of the characters emotional lives and how it ended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best 5 hours I've spent all summer

Beautiful story. Lovely characters. Highly recommend. My sincere thanks to the author and performers. Bravo.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, Heart Lifting Stories

I loved this book! Four compelling stories of four teenagers leading separate, yet intertwined lives. The story is beautifully written with emotion, dedication, acceptance, loyalty, excitement and selfless love of each character in different ways blending all together in the final chapter of the book. All the narrators are truly amazing in their unique characterization of the character they are portraying. The author and narrators are outstanding. This a very enjoyable, captivating audiobook, and I highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carmen
  • Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
  • 07-02-17

What a wonderful story!

I absolutely loved this book! The writer is incredibly gifted at painting a picture that puts you right there with the characters - right down to the smells surrounding them.
The story of Ruth, Dora, Alice and Hank and the way their lives and stories intertwine is beautifully written and read wonderfully by each of the characters.
What a wonderful surprise!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely wonderful

I loved the story so much. I loved the different perspectives in each chapter and seeing the characters appear throughout the story. I loved all the different connections made and was completely blindsided by most of them. Absolutely wonderful and addicting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A slice of home

What a privilege to read. This story brought me all the best kinds of tears.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

What a great book! All the narrators read it so well. The story ends good!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

What a great story! I love how it all comes together at the end! I'm waiting for Bonnie Sue's next book!!!