Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern-day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem's past.

Salem, Massachusetts, is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials, and almost immediately she becomes the enemy of a group of girls that call themselves the Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well, technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries-old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hung. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem, but as Sam and her frenemies soon find, history may be about to repeat itself.

©2016 Adriana Mather (P)2016 Listening Library

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    495
  • 4 Stars
    122
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    439
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    466
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome book

Adriana's stellar storytelling skills made this book worth listening to a second time around. She puts in the story and takes you on a scary but lighthearted journey through Salem as she tried to destroy the curse that was killing a town full of descendants of this historic town. Worth reading over and over again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the Read!

What other book might you compare How to Hang a Witch to and why?

I liked the Secret Circle series and was on the fence about whether or not this book was going to be up to par compared to similar books I read in the past. It was definitely a unique story with some extra love thrown in. I found it interesting that the author is related to Cotton Mathers herself and ties in accurate historical information with the novel. I also liked how the book wasn't as predictable as some of the other ya books I've read recently. I definitely stayed guessing on a few things in the book, so there were a few good surprises. It's definitely worth the credit!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bought on a whim WORTH the whim

This was a great teen horror/ghost/witch/mystery!!! for a 1st book, awesome and original and the writer is a great narrator also. I will be reading the next book. I hope some publishing company has picked up this author if they haven't already. I will be watching for this author in the future. I do recommend!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Salem,Witches& Ghosts what could possibly go wrong

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

Reviewed By Angi


Im often searching for new audibles to entertain myself for my drive and while working. I stumbled upon How to hang a witch quite simply by accident. I took a chance ..cause well why not. Audible has the return guarantee right?


Well...let me tell you about my pleasant surprise! This book has a great story that keeps you intrigued and the author Adriana Mather is also the narrator and does a splendid job at that as well.  We all know when listening to an audible the narrator can literally make or break the story!


This book has a little bit of history mixed with a well told fictional story. The twist at the end was great because I really didn't see it coming and that is so rare these days.  The mystery kept me engaged from page one.


You follow Samantha from the time she arrives in Salem as she moves from NYC. She lives with her Stepmom and her father is ill and in the hospital. We experience her classmates instant dislike of her just because her name is Mather. And things just go bumpy from there.  Theres the “Descendants” all descended from the original players of the Salem witch trials. You guessed it she is on the wrong side of that decedent tree.  Then there's a crabby ghost whom is angry with her simply because he doesn’t want her in his house. Oh and do not let me forget about the secret hidden study and the secret compartment in the wardrobe. I kinda wish I was living in this house!  But I’m leaving you with that!  No more spoilers you will simply have to read it yourself!


I think my favorite part is the the author’s link to Salem. She is 12th generation Mather How awesome is that!  I love her Author’s note at the end of the book with her personal message on bullying. She speaks with passion and I hope even if a few get her message it would help immensely.  


If you love stories about Salem and witches you'll love this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

well researched creative

A wonderful adaptation of the Salem witch trials. The story is rich with history and well researched and creative. We I am not a fan of the author being the narrator of the book, the book itself was very interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lacy
  • WAXAHACHIE, TX, United States
  • 11-30-16

Witch Hunting Role Reversal

I love the Salem witch trials and November always makes me think about it because of the Pilgrims/ Puritan contribution to the holiday. This book is exactly what I've been looking for in a witch story! What makes it even more amazing is that the author, Adriana Mather, is descendant from the infamous Cotton Mather. She also narrates this audible book!

Samantha Mather feels like a black cloud has always followed her in life. Things get worse when her father goes into a coma and must be transferred from New York City to Boston. She and her step-mother, Vivian, move to her dad's old house in Salem to be closer to him. Little does she know, she will meet the cute guy next door named Jackson and his mother (who was her dad's best friend growing up.) She will also encounter a ghost named Elijah that is not too fond of her messing with his belongings.

High school is tough but it's even tougher when your last name is Mather in Salem High School. Samantha faces the challenge of having rumors spread about her by "the descendants," a group of girls who are directly related to the women that were hanged during the witch trials. Luckily, she has Jackson to help her navigate but she is not prepared for the challenge ahead of her! She will have to believe in the unbelievable, fight through betrayal, and persevere through strife to make things right!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very original !

I loved this book! It's very original I don't think I've ever read anything like it ! Wi would recommend it to anyone who like history or suspense. I hope to see more book from this author soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendyg
  • KINGWOOD, TX, US
  • 11-16-16

Beautiful

This book is a lesson of incredible intensity. Thank you so much for in a way taking the time to teach everyone this. Adriana Mather, you are more correct than you know, kindness of any kind definitely does count. Thank you so much for your talent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a great read!

This story kept me wanting more! It was a great new look at the witch trails. The narration was excellent and very enjoyable. Definitely recommending this book!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

love this book

can not wait to read by this beautiful author! she has given me a new look on the salem trials

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jade
  • 04-29-18

Fantastic

What a fantastic story steeped in history and kept me engaged throughout. I can’t believe I downloaded this book for free! Definitely worth a read even if you have to pay for it! X

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Nicci
  • 04-26-18

Good, but

Sort of good, sort of not. Hard to critique without giving the plot away, but one massive cliché underlines this, which was a pity since this seemingly tries to mend bridges. Ultimately disappointing. The witchy stuff was good though.