We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat Audiobook

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Samin Nosrat reads "The Four Elements of Good Cooking", part one of her New York Times best seller Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary yet simple philosophy. Master the use of just four elements - salt, which enhances flavor; fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; acid, which balances flavor; and heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food - and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.

Download the accompanying reference guide.

©2017 Samin Nosrat. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (37 )
5 star
 (31)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (33 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (34 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    BWB 10-01-17
    BWB 10-01-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    10
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I no longer have an excuse"

    Numerous lessons about flavor and how to successfully use the simple ingredients we use daily while cooking. I'd certainly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys cooking or eating food....

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    thomas Cox 09-07-17
    thomas Cox 09-07-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    20
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Loved this
    Going to require some of my staff to read it
    So much wisdom

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-02-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book for cooks"
    Any additional comments?

    I started this book after reading Michael Pollan's Cooked, which made me interested in being a better chef. This book has so much good information, and at times it was even too much. I can see where anyone really dedicated to cooking would love this book, but for me, as an amateur cook, I was a little bored. I can definitely say I am a better chef though, and would recommend to anyone trying to improve their culinary skills.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lawrence J. Clark 08-29-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent breakdown of cooking techniques!"

    This book offers an excellent breakdown of cooking techniques--wish I had read it 30 years ago!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    shelly in baton rouge Baton Rouge, LA United States 08-26-17
    shelly in baton rouge Baton Rouge, LA United States 08-26-17 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book is a must have."

    If you are a beginner or s seasoned (haha) home cook- this is an excellent primer for just about everything. On top of that, Samin's voice and inflections are clear and delightful to listen to. I'm almost finished listening, and probably going to start it over again immediately to get some of this wealth of knowledge into my head. Loved this!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.