Regular price: $17.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Samin Nosrat reads "The Four Elements of Good Cooking", part one of her New York Times best seller Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary yet simple philosophy. Master the use of just four elements - salt, which enhances flavor; fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; acid, which balances flavor; and heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food - and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.

©2017 Samin Nosrat. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I no longer have an excuse

Numerous lessons about flavor and how to successfully use the simple ingredients we use daily while cooking. I'd certainly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys cooking or eating food....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great

Loved this
Going to require some of my staff to read it
So much wisdom

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book for cooks

Any additional comments?

I started this book after reading Michael Pollan's Cooked, which made me interested in being a better chef. This book has so much good information, and at times it was even too much. I can see where anyone really dedicated to cooking would love this book, but for me, as an amateur cook, I was a little bored. I can definitely say I am a better chef though, and would recommend to anyone trying to improve their culinary skills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

excellent breakdown of cooking techniques!

This book offers an excellent breakdown of cooking techniques--wish I had read it 30 years ago!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

This book is a must have.

If you are a beginner or s seasoned (haha) home cook- this is an excellent primer for just about everything. On top of that, Samin's voice and inflections are clear and delightful to listen to. I'm almost finished listening, and probably going to start it over again immediately to get some of this wealth of knowledge into my head. Loved this!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

All the bases covered

Very good introduction to four pillars underlying cooking with lots of ah ha moments for regular cooks looking to up their game. Short and fast.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

EXCELLENT, BUT...

Would you listen to Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat again? Why?

No. The author reads the book and does a poor job. It is very hard to keep the unnatural, cadence and intonation from being a major distraction to the excellent content. I consoled myself by remembering that I have purchased the book and can re-read it later.

What didn’t you like about Samin Nosrat’s performance?

Her intonation. She does't talk to us. She "reads with expression," as a third grader does before finding her natural voice.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

This books explains the theory of cooking in a way that affirms the way I cook and which will make me a better cook because of explaining the how and why of these essential elements of a dish.

Any additional comments?

I highly recommend buying the book. I suggest that Audible have it produced with a different reader.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great!

Fun, informative, interesting, easy read. If you have any desire at all to become a better cook, this is for you. Loved it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Robyn
  • United States
  • 12-11-17

Great information!

I was skeptical about reading a cooking book, but I loved this book. I learned so much; however, it works best to accompany the print version. I have the ebook version and am giving my husband the print version for Christmas. Well worth every penny!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fabulous book! But where are the recipes?

Absolutely love this book. Just what I was looking for. Fun to listen to and very informational. But where are all the recipes? I can find the PDFs on my computer, but none of the recipes.