Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    24,947
  • 4 Stars
    7,103
  • 3 Stars
    2,169
  • 2 Stars
    527
  • 1 Stars
    362

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    20,575
  • 4 Stars
    6,329
  • 3 Stars
    2,858
  • 2 Stars
    849
  • 1 Stars
    621

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,011
  • 4 Stars
    5,588
  • 3 Stars
    1,907
  • 2 Stars
    461
  • 1 Stars
    255
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Worst narrator ever

I have decided I will not buy any future books narrated by this gentleman as his impressions are simply horrible. So much so, his reading detracts from the story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Character voices are painful.

Roy Dotrice is great with the narrative bits, but he makes every woman and child sound like a deranged leprechaun. I don't understand it. I don't like it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

George R R Martin isn't a good writer!

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I can't imagine anyone enjoying the tedium that this series has become.

Would you ever listen to anything by George R. R. Martin again?

NO.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Let me count the ways....too old to voice women/girls....all the men sound like english pirates, irish pirates or the Lucky Charms leprechauns.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment. I found the first 3 books tolerable....although I think Martin was being paid by the word (corn!, corn!.....corn!......corn!, CORN! ....corn!). The plot was engaging enough to keep me interested. During the four book I just stop listening. I went ahead and skipped forward to this one hoping that Crows was an anomaly. I finally gave up at about the halfway point, unwilling to waste any more of my life with this.

Any additional comments?

I'll finish the series on television. Much less tedious.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Best narrator imaginable

I love the Song of Ice and Fire, and the audible version is an absolute treasure. Roy Dotrice gives a stunning performance. I wish I could have him read all of my favorite stories.
I was astounded at one point, when he read a character's line before the name was revealed, but I already knew who it was. Despite the troves of characters, he maintains distinct and fitting voices for all of them.
The book is amazing, and the audible narration surpasses expectations.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent Adventure!

An excellent fantasy adventure well narrated and engaging. The epic story and deep characters were addictive and I was disappointed to reach the end.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

More new characters?

This audiobook is tough to follow with all of the new characters and locations. The narrator does a good job with all of the characters, but the lengthy descriptions are tough to listen to and keep the story moving forward.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

hooked on the epic kingdoms and their quest

hbo and the producers have done a noble job of bringing these books to life. truly on par of The Sopranos, Band of Brothers , Homeland and Roots.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entrancing story, but Dotrice was inconsistent

All in all I loved the story and it was very enjoyable to listen to. The differences between the books and the show are very distinct by this book, which I find very intriguing.

Roy Dotrice is an excellent narrator, but it seems as if he loses track of which accent he uses for certain character, and even changed the pronunciation of a few names a few times. The devil is in the details.. still a great story, very well narrated.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book. Great performance.

Just as beloved as the rest of the series. Roy Dotrice narrates perfectly yet again.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

can't wait for the next one

this one left me hanging a little bit more than the others. I was looking for some other plot lines to develop. But I guess I have to wait for the next book. Other than that it was really good I like some of the other one's a little better but this was a good too. anxious to find out what happened to Brianne and the rest.