Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of JC Reed, J Lynn, Jodi Ellen Malpas, and Jessica Clare comes an all-consuming, raw, and powerful love story that will leave you breathless and wanting more. He will give her everything she's ever wanted....

Jack Powell's confidence is matched only by his intensity. The darkness in him comes from years of secrets and memories he'd rather forget. Lana has an exotic innocence that draws him in, and Jack wants a taste of her. She's a light in the darkness of his world - and she needs help, which he agrees to. The only rule? He makes the rules. Lana gives up her control, letting Jack take her body however he needs while she works her way into his heart. But Jack's past catches up to them, and Lana finds herself wrapped up in a scheme that will expose every secret she's worked so hard to keep. She clung to Jack once when her world was crashing down, but this time she loves him. She'll continue to reach for him - her only fear is if he'll reach back or go on his way, taking her soul with him....

Addictive and unforgettable, Jack and Lana's story will seduce, surprise, and stay with you. A brand-new romance by the #1 best-selling author of Break Me Slowly, this is an emotional roller coaster you'll want to keep riding forever.

©2014 Joya Ryan (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    190
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • CAROLYN
  • Newark, New Jersey, United States
  • 07-10-15

I COULD PICTURE EACH BEAUTIFUL, AMAZING & ADDICTIVE SCENE

I thought, when deciding on this listen, that the best part of it was that all three parts are available now but how wrong I was....... because the best part is the unfolding beautiful, bitter, heartbreaking and touching love story that is held within the hours of this all-consuming listen. Lana had an 'incident' (no spoilers) in her past which broke her family apart and it left her emotionally damaged and insecure. So, when the handsome, kind and gentle Jack came to her rescue one fateful evening she reached out to her Knight but her Knight was about to shake her world both sexually and emotionally. Because the rich and successful Jack liked to be in charge and when he saw the nervous and vulnerable Lana in distress he was drawn to her like a moth to a flame. However, the moth was keeping back lots of secrets, secrets of manipulation, secrets about his 'chance' meeting and further involvement in Lana's life and some dark secrets about his own childhood which shaped him into the wealthy, ruthless and controlling man he is today. And, like the moth, he was unexpectantly about to get burned.

There was instant chemistry which was soon followed by lust and sizzling passions as Lana gave up her control to Jack who slowly taught her about sexual pleasures that only he could provide and life lessons to strengthen her broken character. It wasn't a kinky sub/dom relationship at all but a deep, intense and nurturing one (even if there were Alpha type demands and a bit of spanking). And Lana's confidence slowly grew along with her feelings and dependency for Jack..... which turned out to be the very worst thing she should have ever done.

Apart from the romance storyline there's also another story running, and entwining, throughout it - that of a manipulative Father, an evil Stepmother and a sinister Stepbrother who all bring twists, suspense and danger with them into this well-written and addictive story. There was also a secondary sizzle of an encounter with Callum - a very hot, buff and tattooed Firefighter who's best friends with Jack and he's sticking around in the vague hope that fate will give him the opportunity to seize his chance with the beautiful Lana...... which comes sooner than he ever expected. There's also Lana's supportive best friend.

With a credit? Told entirely from Lana's POV, a very good narrator who managed to capture the emotional intensities, the breathless sex scenes and all the various characters voices so you're never in doubt just who's talking. A plot that is building and building and is getting ready for the loops, the spins and the sudden twists that makes for an earth shattering, compelling and positively awesome listen. YES, a delicious five star listen that was soooo worth the credit.

20 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kd
  • CLINTON, MS, United States
  • 03-19-16

Is it over yet?

Listening to this book was more of a trial, a punishment for me than anything. I forced myself to finish it because I paid for it, though I began to fast forward through parts because it was just too hard to listen to it all. And I didn't even care that there's a cliffhanger at the end. I could care less what happens between Lana and Jack or Lana and anyone else.
The primary reasons for my exceedingly great dislike for this book was its strange and badly written descriptive phrasing, the overuse of "consuming," and Lana's adolescence.

Examples of my first reason include "like a lusty dance," "like lightning behind midnight skies" (behind?), and saying her "legs ached" as a symptom of her being turned on. I have read and listened to many descriptions of physical signs of being turned on, and aching legs have never ever been one of them. It doesn't even seem like that would be a good thing, a good sign. But maybe it's just me. I'm accustomed to and don't find strange descriptions of other leg issues when turned on, like being weak in the legs or something, but never aching. And there were many, many more weird descriptive phrases.

Lana was a young woman (I use that term lightly) who was supposed to be sort of shy and very non-assertive, often seen as weak. But instead she came across as pathetic and quite needy. To aid in the story, she created a nonexistent problem, and some of her behavior didn't make sense. For instance, when she desperately needed a job, she found dumb reasons to end 2 of them, though she ended up keeping one. Yet she had no problem acting very unprofessionally on the job she kept. And that's just the tip of the juvenile iceberg she seemed to create with every word out of her mouth and much of her behavior.

The only thing I did like was how, at the start of the book, I wasn't sure where the relationship part was going. And the narrator did an ok job, though her voice for Lana may have contributed to the adolescent feel of the story. It may have been to child-like almost, like a female who gets a little girl voice when she wants to manipulate someone. I don't know. Altogether, the narrator likely wouldn't have made any difference in my view of this story. In fact, she is the only reason I could even make it through most of this yuck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I really disliked this book

This woman was so irritating and stupid I had to skip through a lot of the book because I just couldn't bare it. I will never buy another book by this author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Crazy ride!

Narrator performed well, the story was great, ending a shock never saw that coming. a girl can dream.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

very different book

Any additional comments?

great romance, the series has twist that blew me away. nothing i would do but interesting twist. this love triangle was odd and interesting at the same time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing!!!

Loved it!!!!! first chapter was slow. but oh boy did it pick up!! Love the story!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Misty
  • Washington
  • 11-05-15

Holy hotness

Super steamy but there is meat there too. Following the same 50 shades outline but enough differences to keep your attention and enough sex appeal to make ya blush.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good

I liked this story. Not really loved. But I'm looking forward to the sequel. Fascinated by Cal.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

COMPLEXITY WELL WRITTEN AND A VERY GOOD LISTEN

I don't think the description captures ther real feel of this book. It wasn't real dark, it was an uneasy love story. Lana has never gotten over an abusive past and cannot thrive in a normal social or romantic situation... until Jack. She has an instant reaction to his protection and for the first time ever, feels safe with a man. His past held abuse too but it manifested a need for control. The two could understand each other's pasts. They could be themselves.
The ending was not an HEA but a relationship cliffhanger. It left me questioning Jack. It left me wondering about Callum's motives. I will definitely need the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sandy
  • Orlando, FL
  • 08-21-16

Pretty good listen

I love the narrator Jennifer Stark. She had a great male voice and did a nice job with this story.
I have never listened to Joya Ryan's books before and this series has potential.
The whole story was well written and steamy!! Nice job too. Not over the top ridiculous steamy scenes like in so many authors.
This book had a unrealistic ending. No spoilers but in the real world, she would have been totally open about who did what to her with Jack. I know it goes on in the next two books, but it was hard to believe she wasn't up front under the circumstances.
I will probably get the next two in this series.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful