Regular price: $27.97

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling sequel to The Killing Season, a new energetic crime saga featuring Carter Blake, a protagonist in the tradition of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD detective Jessica Allen knows she's seen this before - two and a half years ago on the other side of the country. A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for a decade, preying on lone female drivers whose cars have broken down. The press dub the killer "the Samaritan", but with no leads - and a killer who leaves no traces - the police investigation quickly grinds to a halt.

That's when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He's a skilled man hunter with an uncanny ability to predict the Samaritan's next moves. At first Allen and her colleagues are suspicious. After all, their new ally shares some uncomfortable similarities with the man they are tracking. But as the Samaritan takes his slaughter to the next level, Blake must find a way to stop him...even if it means bringing his own past crashing down on top of him.

©2015 Orion Publishing Group (P)2016 Blackstone Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The Carter Blake series should not be missed...

Any additional comments?

I think Mason Cross has made it into my top ten authors with this second book in the Carter Blake series. I thought the first book (The Killing Season) was really good and hoped it was more then just a one hit wonder. With this book Cross has proven that he has more talent then just one good book. This book (The Samaritan) is an Excellent thriller, nonstop suspense right from the beginning. It has a surprise ending that I never saw coming and that doesn't happen too often. I checked Cross's website and saw he has a third coming out this spring, I sure hope it's coming out on Audible as well as print. Anyway, Carter Blake... He finds people that don't want to be found. He's been trained by one of the alphabet organizations and is the best at what he does. He also possesses other skills the average citizen does not. Getting in and out of places with out being noticed, self defense/offense, an ability to read people and a moral code he adheres to. He's not an assassin and will not take jobs from just anyone. We know Carter Blake is not his real name but also don't know much of his history. He gains the respect of law enforcement that he works with, he's loyal and he also doesn't want to easily be found. He's a mystery that looks as though a little bit will come to light with each new book.
Highly Recommended.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

from 5 tp a 3, but good

This writing started so oddly I thought I had purchasd the incorrect title. So stay with the introductory chapters until you knee deep in bodies. It holds together well until the closing. Next book neefs a tougher editor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 02-23-16

Great action thriller!

What other book might you compare The Samaritan to and why?

I have no specific book in mind. The Carter Blake character has some shades of Jack Reacher, not in size but apparent lack of roots. He also reminds me somewhat of Mark Dawson's John Milton character.

Which character – as performed by Eric Meyers – was your favorite?

Carter Blake. Meyers is the voice of Carter Blake since Blake's portions of the book are written in the first person.

Any additional comments?

First, thanks to Shelley, one of the Audible customers whose reviews I follow, for her reviews which led me to The Samaritan as well as several other wonderful thrillers. The Samaritan is a great action thriller with constant suspense. I have not listened to the first book, The Killing Season, but will soon. I also look forward to the mid-2016 release of Winterlong which is Book 3 in the Carter Blake series.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Twisted Sister

First off I'll tell you it usually takes me about a day and a half or a little less to finish a 12 to 13 hour book... This one took me 4 days and multiple restarts.
The story was good, the degree of mystery was good, but I just could not connect with the book in such a way that made me care about the characters.
Sure there is plenty of blood and gore, the main two characters get captured and experience the said tic offerings of the villains. The story takes place in LA and I guess the author just wanted to showcase a twisted mind, and a super secret gov. Law agency working with a female law enforcement type with questionable prior performance of duty issue...maybe

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • A
  • 04-25-17

Don't Cross Mason

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Outstanding series - character well developed with its secrets that lead to a hunt for one of its own

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • John
  • tallevast, FL, United States
  • 03-09-17

Giving up

There's four hours to go, but I'm giving up after the warehouse scene.. I think there's a good idea in here - But the story doesn't grab me and hold my attention. A lot of dialogue.

I'm bored

J

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Strong start, weak finish

A real page turner in the beginning, but the author must have thought he needed to bring in every twist and action sequence he could dream up, because the last 1-2 hours were a mish mash. So disappointing. Excellent narration, though.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story, Characters need more depth

I really enjoyed the story and the ending took me by surprise; always a good thing in my opinion. Both the male and female protagonists had interesting backgrounds, but I never felt I really knew them and frankly didn't develop enough of a relationship with either to get invested in what happened to them. A pity, because with that element this could have been a terrific book along the lines of Lee Child. I believe given time and experience Mr. Cross will improve character development and I look forward to reading his next book to see the difference.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jason
  • Mount Juliet, TN, United States
  • 02-20-16

The incredible new series just got better!

If you could sum up The Samaritan in three words, what would they be?

When I read the first book in the Carter Blake series "The Killing Season" written by Mason Cross I was really shocked how good it was, I had never heard of author Mason Cross now two books later I'm convinced he is going to be a big deal. If you have not read that first book this book can stand alone although I do suggest reading Killing Season first, it gives some credit to our main character Carter Blake. If a crime/thriller could be described as epic this series fits the bill, the story's are so good do yourself a favor read/listen to them the narrator is excellent as well.

Have you listened to any of Eric Meyers’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I think I'm new to Eric Meyer I need to check my past books but he is fantastic.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

For sure

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not about Carter Blake

Book 1 of this series was interesting - interesting enough I bought Book 2. I like the main character (although for this book I use the term loosely) and his ability to catch his prey. However, this book had very little Carter Blake. Why? The police provide the main story line and they weren't very interesting. Unfortunately, I'm finished reading this series. Why can't authors make follow-on books as good as the first?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful