We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Samaritan Audiobook

The Samaritan: The Carter Blake Series, Book 2

Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling sequel to The Killing Season, a new energetic crime saga featuring Carter Blake, a protagonist in the tradition of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD detective Jessica Allen knows she's seen this before - two and a half years ago on the other side of the country. A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for a decade, preying on lone female drivers whose cars have broken down. The press dub the killer "the Samaritan", but with no leads - and a killer who leaves no traces - the police investigation quickly grinds to a halt.

That's when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He's a skilled man hunter with an uncanny ability to predict the Samaritan's next moves. At first Allen and her colleagues are suspicious. After all, their new ally shares some uncomfortable similarities with the man they are tracking. But as the Samaritan takes his slaughter to the next level, Blake must find a way to stop him...even if it means bringing his own past crashing down on top of him.

©2015 Orion Publishing Group (P)2016 Blackstone Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (171 )
5 star
 (94)
4 star
 (55)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (159 )
5 star
 (82)
4 star
 (54)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.5 (161 )
5 star
 (100)
4 star
 (51)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    shelley Raleigh, NC 02-19-16
    shelley Raleigh, NC 02-19-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6974
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1319
    343
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1351
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Carter Blake series should not be missed..."
    Any additional comments?

    I think Mason Cross has made it into my top ten authors with this second book in the Carter Blake series. I thought the first book (The Killing Season) was really good and hoped it was more then just a one hit wonder. With this book Cross has proven that he has more talent then just one good book. This book (The Samaritan) is an Excellent thriller, nonstop suspense right from the beginning. It has a surprise ending that I never saw coming and that doesn't happen too often. I checked Cross's website and saw he has a third coming out this spring, I sure hope it's coming out on Audible as well as print. Anyway, Carter Blake... He finds people that don't want to be found. He's been trained by one of the alphabet organizations and is the best at what he does. He also possesses other skills the average citizen does not. Getting in and out of places with out being noticed, self defense/offense, an ability to read people and a moral code he adheres to. He's not an assassin and will not take jobs from just anyone. We know Carter Blake is not his real name but also don't know much of his history. He gains the respect of law enforcement that he works with, he's loyal and he also doesn't want to easily be found. He's a mystery that looks as though a little bit will come to light with each new book.
    Highly Recommended.
    If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
    Thank You.

    13 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John tallevast, FL, United States 03-09-17
    John tallevast, FL, United States 03-09-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    905
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    183
    160
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    57
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Giving up"

    There's four hours to go, but I'm giving up after the warehouse scene.. I think there's a good idea in here - But the story doesn't grab me and hold my attention. A lot of dialogue.

    I'm bored

    J

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Allen Anthony 06-02-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    669
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    802
    266
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Twisted Sister"

    First off I'll tell you it usually takes me about a day and a half or a little less to finish a 12 to 13 hour book... This one took me 4 days and multiple restarts.
    The story was good, the degree of mystery was good, but I just could not connect with the book in such a way that made me care about the characters.
    Sure there is plenty of blood and gore, the main two characters get captured and experience the said tic offerings of the villains. The story takes place in LA and I guess the author just wanted to showcase a twisted mind, and a super secret gov. Law agency working with a female law enforcement type with questionable prior performance of duty issue...maybe

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Matthews, NC 02-23-16
    Wayne Matthews, NC 02-23-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14910
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2079
    1717
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    527
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great action thriller!"
    What other book might you compare The Samaritan to and why?

    I have no specific book in mind. The Carter Blake character has some shades of Jack Reacher, not in size but apparent lack of roots. He also reminds me somewhat of Mark Dawson's John Milton character.


    Which character – as performed by Eric Meyers – was your favorite?

    Carter Blake. Meyers is the voice of Carter Blake since Blake's portions of the book are written in the first person.


    Any additional comments?

    First, thanks to Shelley, one of the Audible customers whose reviews I follow, for her reviews which led me to The Samaritan as well as several other wonderful thrillers. The Samaritan is a great action thriller with constant suspense. I have not listened to the first book, The Killing Season, but will soon. I also look forward to the mid-2016 release of Winterlong which is Book 3 in the Carter Blake series.

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Bain 07-25-16
    Ruth Bain 07-25-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1660
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    630
    623
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    84
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Strong start, weak finish"

    A real page turner in the beginning, but the author must have thought he needed to bring in every twist and action sequence he could dream up, because the last 1-2 hours were a mish mash. So disappointing. Excellent narration, though.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennie 09-16-17
    Jennie 09-16-17 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not about Carter Blake"

    Book 1 of this series was interesting - interesting enough I bought Book 2. I like the main character (although for this book I use the term loosely) and his ability to catch his prey. However, this book had very little Carter Blake. Why? The police provide the main story line and they weren't very interesting. Unfortunately, I'm finished reading this series. Why can't authors make follow-on books as good as the first?

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John R. Holmes, Jr. Anacortes, Washington 06-15-17
    John R. Holmes, Jr. Anacortes, Washington 06-15-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Implausibly Complex"

    I like to think I can handle complexity, but this story has too many twists and turns for me. Nothing is as it seems, nobody is who they claim to be, and everything the author leads you to believe turns out to be untrue. On top of that, there are several suspenseful scenes that feel contrived and gratuitous. Even 45 minutes before the ending, I was still considering throwing in the towel.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sandra 04-26-17
    sandra 04-26-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    219
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lazy Plot"

    I was sorry that the second Carter Blake plot was a standard stalker and shocker. In addition, Mason Cross sometimes gets a little lazy with the plotting, with smart, effective characters doing dumb things to propel the action forward.
    On the plus side, the narrator Eric Meyers has the perfect hard-boiled cop voice and the protagonist Carter Blake remains intriguing, if overly mysterious.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A 04-25-17
    A 04-25-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    261
    104
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't Cross Mason"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Outstanding series - character well developed with its secrets that lead to a hunt for one of its own


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna 03-14-16
    Donna 03-14-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    378
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    218
    158
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "from 5 tp a 3, but good"

    This writing started so oddly I thought I had purchasd the incorrect title. So stay with the introductory chapters until you knee deep in bodies. It holds together well until the closing. Next book neefs a tougher editor.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.