Your audiobook is waiting…

City of Windows

A Novel
Narrated by: Stephen Graybill
Length: 11 hrs and 5 mins
4 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"A tough, wise, knowing narrative voice, a great plot, a great setting, and even better characters - I loved this." (Lee Child, New York Times best-selling author)

In the tradition of Jeffery Deaver’s Lincoln Rhyme and David Baldacci’s Amos Decker, Robert Pobi's City of Windows introduces Lucas Page, a brilliant, reluctant investigator, matching wits with a skilled, invisible killer.

During the worst blizzard in memory, an FBI agent in a moving SUV in New York City is killed by a nearly impossible sniper shot. Unable to pinpoint where the shot came from, as the storm rapidly wipes out evidence, the agent-in-charge Brett Kehoe turns to the one man who might be able to help them - former FBI agent Lucas Page.

Page, a university professor and best-selling author, left the FBI years ago after a tragic event robbed him of a leg, an arm, an eye, and the willingness to continue. But he has an amazing ability to read a crime scene and figure out angles and trajectories in his head, and he might be the only one to be able to find the sniper’s nest. With a new wife and family, Lucas Page has no interest in helping the FBI - except for the fact that the victim was his former partner.

Agreeing to help for his partner’s sake, Page finds himself hunting a killer with an unknown agenda and amazing sniper skills in the worst of conditions. And his partner’s murder is only the first in a series of meticulously planned murders carried out with all-but-impossible sniper shots. The only thing connecting the deaths is that the victims are all with law enforcement - that is, until Page’s own family becomes a target.

To identify and hunt down this ruthless, seemingly unstoppable killer, Page must discover what hidden past connects the victims before he himself loses all that is dear to him.

©2019 Robert Pobi (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

 "City of Windows is moving, breathtaking--a great entertainment." — The Wall Street Journal

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MC
  • 08-10-19

Captivating New Series

This book is quite good. I had returned a couple that were better rated due to sheer boredom. Glad to see this will be a series. As to the reviewer who had issues with the politics, that truly is a non-issue and ridiculous observation imho. Recommend.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • Topeka, Ks, US
  • 08-07-19

5

A thriller. A mystery. Very
good. I had trouble stopping this for reality like letting the dog in/out, feeding the kids, getting the mail, going to bed.... I really liked the plots, the narrator, the
scenes, the ending. It's all good, darn good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not as good as his previous books.

I was hoping for more. He stepped toward the tiresome political. I will keep watching for future books, maybe he will come back to his heart .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It’s All About the Math, and Humanity

One of the best 1st novels you’ll read!! Emotional depth, uncommon understanding of peoples, nice twists, and some downright moving scenes... Moves well, and looks at itself honestly... Only caveat is that the narration, although acceptable, is nothing special... Lucas Page is an extraordinary protagonist w/ hidden layers, and the story engages, and the understanding of disability is simply spot on... Oh, and for those of you that need a writer to confirm or deny your political and social leanings, go away, this is far too good a book for you;).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Thomas
  • Richmond, Vatican City State (Holy See)
  • 08-08-19

Great Story until the Lecture Began.....

Honestly it is hard to know if the political rants are the fault of the author of the publisher. "Robert, you have got to get some structural racism, anti-gun screed, digs at the Trump Administration if you want your books to be read and talked about in the Hamptons and Fire Island!!"Lee Child and John Sandford went down this road for awhile but wised up. Fortunately for them they are well established characters. Robert Pobi, not so much. I will not be reading further exploits of Lucas.

BTW Robert, for those readers that believe in the Second Amendment for the health of the Republic, I know you believe there are no threats that justify it, the memory of 225 million death from the "isms" last century is still strong. Although there is very strict gun control in the UK, there are also laws to control scissors, knives, acids and cricket bats.

6 of 19 people found this review helpful