• The Cutting

  • A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 1
  • By: James Hayman
  • Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (346 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Cutting  By  cover art

The Cutting

By: James Hayman
Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.19

Buy for $25.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.

Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....

Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.

But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.

On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.

McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.

©2009 James Hayman (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers