Regular price: $13.85

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense.

Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty.

How far would you go to make all your dreams come true?

Amber Patterson is tired of being a nobody: an invisible woman who melts into the background. She deserves more. She deserves a life of wealth, luxury and leisure.

Daphne Parrish is the golden girl of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut. With her model looks, her picture-perfect mansion and her millionaire husband, Jackson, she has everything Amber wants.

Amber's envy could eat her alive - if she didn't have a plan. Before long, she has become Daphne's closest friend and is catching the eye of Jackson. But a skeleton from her past could destroy everything, and if discovered, Amber's well-laid plan may end in disaster....

©2017 Lynne Constantine and Valerie (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"The Last Mrs Parrish is an addictive and twisty debut." (Karin Slaughter)
"Wonderfully plausible, hypnotically compelling, and deliciously chilling and creepy - some of the best psychological suspense you'll read this year." (Lee Child)
"A wonderfully clever story, filled with suspense and a shocking twist, that kept me turning the pages." (Jane Green, best-selling author of Summer Secrets)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-23-18

Just terrible!

Firstly the narrators were monotonous and bland throughout. The story line was OK and had potential BUT I don’t think there was a single believable conversation in the whole book. So superficial! And the ending! It just went on and on forever and was far too sickly sweet to be believable. Awful! Please don’t waste your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-20-18

Fantistic

Good if not better than Gone Girl.
My favourite book in ages i loved it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • AnnieJuly
  • 01-05-18

Predictable and corny...but very enjoyable :)

Okay, first let's be blunt about what this book is - this is corny, predictable and nothing more than an off the peg "psychological thriller". The long arm of coincidence and entirely incredible turns of events are employed with abandon. The old dual narrator device, with its inevitability that "everything you thought you knew is not what it seems" is getting as stale as last year's scones. But then this did not claim to be a great work of literary fiction. I bought it for a long car journey where all I wanted was to be kept entertained, not challenged intellectually, and this completely delivered. I killed 6 of the 12 hours on the return journey alone, and soon listened to the rest at home. It is actually quite well-written in terms of the prose, with a nice line in vinegary human observations. Many of these types of books are not only hackneyed but direly written - not this. So, this is a really entertaining audio version of pool reading. It does what it says on the tin and you probably will not get bored! I thought it was really well narrated also, which goes a long way. Worse ways to spend a free credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rochelle Edwards
  • 02-09-18

Careful What You Wish For!

Loved this story and and its narration from beginning to end. Kept me interested throughout and as the twist slowly made itself clear I found it even more intriguing.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Smonty64
  • 01-31-18

my favourite book so far this year

A great story with an interesting twist enjoyed from beginning to end.

narration was excellent

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Vicky J
  • 01-29-18

A good twist

Better Than I expected, with quite a twist. I listened to it in a day, will look our for this author again .

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Hollybear
  • 01-25-18

Slow start

Sadly I returned this book after listening for 2.5 hours, as for me the story wasn’t going anywhere fast. I felt Amber could have been a good character but there was too much build up and not enough action.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MO
  • 01-01-18

A gripping tale

This is one of my favourites to date. For the first half hour I wondered if I could listen to the narrator for the whole book (accent wise) but it really hooked me in and I never looked back. Listened in just a few sittings. The characters were built brilliantly and although I can’t say the plot had an unexpected twist, I felt it actually made the story more believable. It was just a well crafted build up rather than an unexpected twist for the sake of it. Definitely recommended.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Janet
  • 12-31-17

Long winded

Story line was ok but the constant repetition was annoying .Ending was quite good though .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-19-18

Ok to miss this one

Very long-winded and predictable - liked the second part and narrator but the first was awful, was crabby she came back for the last part! Dialogue of the characters was poor.