Murder Offstage

A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 1
Narrated by: Clare Wille
Length: 7 hrs and 33 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4 out of 5 stars (91 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Like your mysteries cozy and set during the Golden Age of Crime? This is the first audiobook in the Posie Parker mysteries, although this novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story in its own right. Set in London in 1921, Murder Offstage is full of intrigue and red herrings. This is a classic murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

When Posie Parker’s childhood friend is robbed of a priceless jewel and becomes a suspect in a cold-blooded murder case, budding detective Posie vows she will clear his name. Aided by her seriously gorgeous assistant Len, Posie soon realizes things are not quite as they seem, and the darkly-glamorous world of London’s theater and glittering nightclubs prove far more dangerous than she ever could have imagined.

Just who exactly is the dangerous Lucky Lucy Gibson? And who is it she has killed in the lobby of the Ritz Hotel? And more importantly, what on earth has happened to Mr Minks, the much-loved office cat?

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, download a sample or buy Murder Offstage now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway available on Amazon:

  • The Tomb of the Honey Bee: A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 2
  • Murder at Maypole Manor': A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 3
  • The Vanishing of Dr Winter: A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 4
  • Murder of a Movie Star: A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 5
©2014 L.B. Hathaway (P)2020 L.B. Hathaway

Critic Reviews

“This novel is a first class cozy worthy of Agatha Christie.” (Sweet Mystery Books)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable

The book was fine up until the end, when murderer was revealed and the book went from a perfectly pleasant mystery to creating an unbelievable threat. To say much more would be spoiling details and I don't want to do that. It just fell completely flat at the end because of the absurdity.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the characters and the suspense

Well written story. Narrator was pleasant to listen to and pronounced words correctly. The story line was suspenseful and full of surprises. The attention to detail was a big plus. I felt like I was there.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Okay story. No idea about the era.

An okay story, if all little formulaic.

Unfortunately details of the era (1921) are frequently crashingly wrong. From plastic seating in cafes to characters always referring to WW1 as "The Great War" in day to day conversation and many other jarring examples that jolt you out of the story. A Dick Van Dyke impression of the early 1920s.

Better research would elevate the author to "but the next book" status.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable narration and story- clean content

Very pleasant listen. Enjoyed narrator and clean story. Cozy mystery for sure. Recommended for mystery lovers.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Didn’t read like the first of a series

I have found a few murder mystery series that I’ve really fallen in love with and gotten into, but I had a hard time with this book.

I felt like the introduction to the characters was rushed, and they were fairly superficial, lacking in depth. I checked and then re-checked a few times when listening convinced this was actually book 2 and I’d missed something. Some good aspects of the book, especially with the mystery itself, but I wish the author would have taken the time to let us get to know the characters more. Needed more “show” and less “tell.”

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my cup of tea

Because of this one I will not be putting this author on my list to read