adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Like your mysteries cozy and set during the Golden Age of Crime? This is the first audiobook in the Posie Parker mysteries, although this novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story in its own right. Set in London in 1921, Murder Offstage is full of intrigue and red herrings. This is a classic murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

When Posie Parker’s childhood friend is robbed of a priceless jewel and becomes a suspect in a cold-blooded murder case, budding detective Posie vows she will clear his name. Aided by her seriously gorgeous assistant Len, Posie soon realizes things are not quite as they seem, and the darkly-glamorous world of London’s theater and glittering nightclubs prove far more dangerous than she ever could have imagined.

Just who exactly is the dangerous Lucky Lucy Gibson? And who is it she has killed in the lobby of the Ritz Hotel? And more importantly, what on earth has happened to Mr Minks, the much-loved office cat?

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, download a sample or buy Murder Offstage now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway available on Amazon:

  • The Tomb of the Honey Bee: A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 2
  • Murder at Maypole Manor': A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 3
  • The Vanishing of Dr Winter: A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 4
  • Murder of a Movie Star: A Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 5
©2014 L.B. Hathaway (P)2020 L.B. Hathaway

Critic Reviews

“This novel is a first class cozy worthy of Agatha Christie.” (Sweet Mystery Books)

What listeners say about Murder Offstage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    237
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Okay story. No idea about the era.

An okay story, if all little formulaic.

Unfortunately details of the era (1921) are frequently crashingly wrong. From plastic seating in cafes to characters always referring to WW1 as "The Great War" in day to day conversation and many other jarring examples that jolt you out of the story. A Dick Van Dyke impression of the early 1920s.

Better research would elevate the author to "but the next book" status.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable

The book was fine up until the end, when murderer was revealed and the book went from a perfectly pleasant mystery to creating an unbelievable threat. To say much more would be spoiling details and I don't want to do that. It just fell completely flat at the end because of the absurdity.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Didn’t read like the first of a series

I have found a few murder mystery series that I’ve really fallen in love with and gotten into, but I had a hard time with this book.

I felt like the introduction to the characters was rushed, and they were fairly superficial, lacking in depth. I checked and then re-checked a few times when listening convinced this was actually book 2 and I’d missed something. Some good aspects of the book, especially with the mystery itself, but I wish the author would have taken the time to let us get to know the characters more. Needed more “show” and less “tell.”

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable narration and story- clean content

Very pleasant listen. Enjoyed narrator and clean story. Cozy mystery for sure. Recommended for mystery lovers.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the characters and the suspense

Well written story. Narrator was pleasant to listen to and pronounced words correctly. The story line was suspenseful and full of surprises. The attention to detail was a big plus. I felt like I was there.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent understanding of the English language

First off, the narrator is quite good so you can ignore some of the weaker writing. But the plot, narrator and characters are better than most in this genre. I wish these cosies would have better editors but I guess that would eat into the profits.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not good

This story was extremely hard to follow. I tried listing to it a few times and I couldn’t get into it. It was a waste of a credit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging period mystery

A terrific reader with fun female detective and cast of characters in 1920’s London.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun lighthearted good mystery if you like women detectives

Thoroughly enjoyed it quite interesting historical mystery Young woman in England good plot, similar to Sherlock Holmes if that’s what you enjoy

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this book!

what a fun captivating story. couldnt wait to get back to it when I was away. cant wait to listen to the next one!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-06-20

But why...?

I felt the plotting was sloppy. I kept wondering "but why did they do that?" It didn't impress me but was easy enough listening for me to reach the end.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rachel webb
  • rachel webb
  • 05-10-20

Not great

The book is well written just the story is a bit boring and you keep expecting something to happen but doesn't have a great sense of suspense.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for L'Bags
  • L'Bags
  • 08-24-20

Inconsistent Characters

While the premise is enjoyable I was irritated by inconsistencies in characters- the heroine was both clever and very stupid when it suited the plot which I found unsatisfactory, sorry!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carôle
  • Carôle
  • 03-22-21

The plot is a good one but the telling of it is poor

The blurb reads well and the plot is a good one, but the telling of it is poor! I disliked most that it was packed full of cliches (most often ‘dumb blonde’ type cliches), but also ‘B movie’ types too! Right down to the stroking of the cat scene <sigh>.

I won’t be perusing any more in this series or by this author. The upside is that the narrator, Clare Wille, is very good (which is why it got an extra star overall).

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tenaj
  • tenaj
  • 02-25-21

Entertaining

Enjoyed the detail with many twists. Keeps you guessing until the very last chapter. Left open for future stories.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pia M Choudhury
  • Pia M Choudhury
  • 01-24-21

A bit slow

Not as enjoyable as I’d hoped. Dialogue quite weak. Tries to be authentic to the time but it somehow doesn’t land. Fans of Agatha - Christie or Raisin - might well be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr M J Milbourn
  • Mr M J Milbourn
  • 01-02-21

Brilliant - I loved every word

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Well written, excellently drawn characters, I can visualise each one. Good plot, twists, thrills, even some well balanced romance.

The vocal performance was excellent. Well suited to the story and beautifully delivered.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris Stanfield
  • Chris Stanfield
  • 10-23-20

underwhelmed

A rambling story with unbelievable characters which just tried too hard I won't recommend it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-26-20

Really gripping

Very much enjoyed this. Bought on a whim. Was disappointed. Very much surpassed my expectations.