Murder at Maypole Manor

A Posie Parker Mystery #3
Narrated by: Clare Wille
Length: 8 hrs and 12 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (72 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Lies, spies, film stars, and murder.

New Year’s Eve, 1921

Posie has been asked to accompany Inspector Richard Lovelace of Scotland Yard on an undercover mission. Their destination is a glittering New Year’s Eve party at Maypole Manor, the clifftop home of Lord Robin Glaysayer. Among the 12 guests are a famous film star, an artist, an Italian nobleman, a government spy, and a clairvoyant.

With a blizzard raging outside, when a killer strikes, the Inspector and Posie’s skills are tested to breaking point as they try to find the murderer before he attacks again.

But danger lurks at every corner: just who exactly is the mysterious 13th house guest? Why is Posie being singled out for special attention?

And will she ever see Alaric Boynton-Dale ever again?

This is a classic Golden Age of Crime murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. Murder at Maypole Manor is the third book in the delightfully classic Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story in its own right.

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, get Murder at Maypole Manor now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway available on Amazon:

  • Murder Offstage: A Posie Parker Mystery #1
  • The Tomb of the Honey Bee: A Posie Parker Mystery #2
  • The Vanishing of Dr Winter: A Posie Parker Mystery #4
  • Murder of a Movie Star: A Posie Parker Mystery #5

To be the first to hear about L.B. Hathaway's new releases sign up for the newsletter.

©2016 L.B. Hathaway (P)2019 L.B. Hathaway

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good

Decent cozy mystery set in my favorite time period. I enjoyed it for the most part. Just a few minor annoying repeated sayings like “as sure as bread is bread” and “Posey was about to tell the inspector when...” something happens to stop it, took me out of the narrative. Feels like one last edit would have made the story more enjoyable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It’s ok

I want to like the Posie Parker series, but I can’t, quite. I listened to The Tomb of the Honeybees and Murder at Maypole Manor. Not bad, but not for me. The plots are too layered and don’t link together believably. Too much of a good thing, my attention wanders and I stop caring what happens to whom. The unlikable characters are better developed than the potentially likable ones. Posie herself is inconsistent, I can’t figure out why anyone is attracted to her. I want to like her, I just can’t find enough substance and personality to hang onto.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What An Absolute treat..!!.. Audible, please acquire the rest of the series

What an absolute delight... loved it from start to finish,.. I noticed you have the next book already available,.. but she refers quite a lot to her past travails in her previous books ,so I’m hoping Audible,.. you will get those too..highly recommend it to cozy readers..

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

It kept me "turning the pages" so to speak.

The plot had twists and turns but not those aggravating hidden ones. Plenty of back stories and interesting characters, which I hope to see I. future books.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good, needs pruning

Over all good but could use more editing. Several phrases are very repetitious through the entire story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Good narttor

The reader is excellent but the story for tedious towards the end of the book. Not on my list of must haves.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D.J.T
  • D.J.T
  • 04-05-20

Very good!

Another great audiobook from the same author and narrator. Particularly liked how much was going on in this story! Looking forward for next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PJD
  • PJD
  • 04-03-20

Such a good book

This was so well read and enjoyable story that I look forward to hearing the next one.