The Tomb of the Honey Bee

A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 2
Narrated by: Clare Wille
Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (91 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Like your mysteries as sweet as honey but with a real sting in the tail?

Summer 1921

Posie Parker thought she was about to enjoy a restful summer. But this is no ordinary summer holiday....

When famous explorer Alaric Boynton-Dale disappears, Posie uncovers many dark secrets: an aristocratic family torn apart by hatred, a bizarre murder at an English country house, and a cryptic clue left behind by Alaric which is sweet as honey, but deadlier than poison.

In an action-packed case where simply everyone has a motive for wanting Alaric dead, Posie's investigation starts off in the English Cotswolds, takes her through the glamorous South of France, on to the mysterious island of Ortigia in Italy, and then into the Tombs of the Pharaohs in Egypt.

But is she being followed by a cold-blooded killer? And where has Len, her almost-boyfriend, disappeared to?

This is a classic Golden Age of Crime murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. The Tomb of the Honey Bee is the second book in the delightfully classic English Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a standalone story in its own right.

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, buy The Tomb of the Honey Bee now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway:

Murder Offstage: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 1

Murder at Maypole Manor: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 3

The Vanishing of Dr Winter: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 4

Murder of a Movie Star: A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 5

To be the first to hear about L.B. Hathaway's new releases. Sign up for the newsletter.

©2014 L.B. Hathaway (P)2019 L.B. Hathaway

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Reminds me of Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody

This is a seriously crafted mystery and a relatable heroine (Posie Parker) a 1920s detective. Each of the characters are very well drawn, the locales Posie travels to are equally dimensional. I love that Posie goes from England to Italy and Egypt and each leg of the journey is a complete gem. I enjoy the 1920s backdrop but the story is so solid it could be enjoyed in a variety of decade backgrounds. Great narration. This was a novel I wanted to get the most out of every page and I will buy more audiobooks from this series. I am reminded of the novels by Elizabeth Peters featuring Amelia Peabody for the story strength , the female heroine and cleverness of the mystery.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Tomb of the Honey Bee

Decent cozy mystery but somehow too serious in tone for actual tale. I was comparing this author to Kerry Greenwood over and over in my mind and the former came out to a distinct disadvantage.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Maisy Dobbs Light, Daisy Dalrymple heavy

This series is the perfect midpoint between the depth of the Maisy Dobbs Series and the shallowness of the Daisy Dalrymple one. The stories are nice and juicy, and hard to figure out, and the main character is very grounded. The narrator does great American accents, which may be harder than I thought!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for soosiewoosie
  • soosiewoosie
  • 02-03-20

Full of mistakes and anachronisms.

I thought this was going to be a fun listen, but there are so many mistakes about the period, and in the dialogue that it’s not worth listening to. What a disappointment.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for taylor
  • taylor
  • 03-10-20

Lots of good bits

But plenty of errors including train stations instead of railway stations.
Irritating and could be a better done

1 person found this helpful