• Murder of a Movie Star

  • A Cozy Historical Murder Mystery (The Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 5)
  • By: L.B. Hathaway
  • Narrated by: Clare Wille
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (215 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Murder of a Movie Star  By  cover art

Murder of a Movie Star

By: L.B. Hathaway
Narrated by: Clare Wille
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Lights, camera, murder....

London, 1923

As England swelters during the hottest summer on record, Posie Parker, Private Detective, is summoned to Worton Hall Film Studios, where she steps into the heart of a sinister new mystery.

Silvia Hanro, the famously beautiful movie star, has received death threats alongside her morning coffee, and Posie is tasked with protecting her. Aided by her good friends Lady Dolly Cardigeon and Chief Inspector Richard Lovelace, Posie soon realises that behind the cheap canvas sets and the dreamy glamour of the Studios a dreadful secret lays buried, and traitors lurk everywhere.

And then, good as their word, the killer strikes....

Can Posie uncover the murderer before they kill again?

Can she protect herself and her friends in a world where quite literally nothing is as it seems? And can she rescue her own engagement to the gorgeous Alaric Boynton-Dale from the brink of disaster by using a few of the tricks she has learnt on set?

This is a classic Golden Age of Crime murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. Murder of a Movie Star is the fifth book in the Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a standalone.

If you love an action-packed 1920s historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, download an audiobook sample or buy Murder of a Movie Star now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway available as audiobooks:

  • Murder Offstage (A Posie Parker Mystery #1)
  • The Tomb of the Honey Bee (A Posie Parker Mystery #2)
  • Murder at Maypole Manor (A Posie Parker Mystery #3)
  • The Vanishing of Dr Winter (A Posie Parker Mystery #4)

To be the first to hear about L.B. Hathaway's new releases sign up for the newsletter on www.lbhathaway.com.

©2017 L.B. Hathaway (P)2020 L.B. Hathaway

Featured Article: The Best Cozy Mysteries to Keep You Warm This Holiday Season


We’ve rounded up a list of some of the best cozy mystery audiobooks to help brighten up your winter listening. Here you'll find contemporary and historical cozies, classic whodunits and ingenious heist stories. While varying in tone, plot, and setting, these picks all share an irresistible holiday atmosphere. You'll find snowstorms galore, bakeries full of tasty holiday treats, glittering get-togethers, and picturesque English villages decked out in their holiday finest.

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about Murder of a Movie Star

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Again wow

These wonderful stories get really in depth and keep me riveted until the end! Love the characters and narrator!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So fun!

Adore this series, it’s super-fun & narrator is great.
However, the number of times the main character says “As sure as bread is bread,” is really bordering on the ridiculous.
It detracts from all the other great things about this series & adds nothing. The catchphrase of a main character is a cute idea, but not if the catchphrase is stupid and employed relentlessly.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing Tale

Suspense and intrigue are the essence of this story. The characters are believe able and the setting is described to a "T". One could leave their abode and expect to meander into 1920's London. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun stories

The Posey Parker mysteries are fun and easy to listen to. A much needed escape from a stressful day. I like that Posey makes well thought out decisions. The women in these books are portrayed as intelligent, which I appreciate. Some female leads in cosy mysteries make cringy decisions that the listener/ reader can immediately spot as a mistake.

I also like the choice of narrator, easy to listen to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

good narrator but over the top story

heroine no confidence in herself, says 'oh' too much. now an older married man in love with her, terrible plot turn. obvious murderer but took too long to get to end, then an old villain shows up for no good reason with terrible name. should have stopped with first book in series, not getting better as others stated.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little dull and drawn out

It feels like the mystery didn’t begin until there was only 2 hours left, but at least it didn’t repeat “as sure as bread is bread” every chapter.

SPOILER

Also, I don’t get the Caspian De La Rosa deus ex machina - always showing up in the end to conveniently keep Posey from dying while trying to kidnap her in the most unsuccessful attempts for a major crime lord. It’s just overdone.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!