• The Saltwater Murder

  • A Cozy Historical Murder Mystery (The Posie Parker Mystery Series, Book 7)
  • By: L.B. Hathaway
  • Narrated by: Clare Wille
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (230 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Saltwater Murder  By  cover art

The Saltwater Murder

By: L.B. Hathaway
Narrated by: Clare Wille
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Murdered with a box of tears

London, 1924

Posie Parker has been called to her most baffling case yet.

Amyas Lyle, London’s top young lawyer, has been found with his head in a box of poisoned saltwater.

It’s the perfect murder. But who hated him enough to do such a thing?

Following a trail of strange notes, all of which speak of the sea and saltwater, Posie travels from London to the seaside resort of Whitley Bay, looking for answers. But nothing can prepare her for what she finds there.

Can Posie find Amyas Lyle’s cold-blooded killer before further deaths take place? Can she protect those Amyas has left behind?

As Britain celebrates an Olympic summer, will Posie manage to enjoy a holiday romance of her own? And just what is wrong with Inspector Lovelace? Why is he behaving so oddly? Is it anything to do with his new, smart appearance and some very carefully starched shirt collars?

This is a classic golden age of crime murder mystery that will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. The Saltwater Murder is the seventh book in the Posie Parker Mystery series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone.

If you love an action-packed 1920s historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, download the audiobook now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway available as audiobooks:

  • Murder Offstage (A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 1)
  • The Tomb of the Honey Bee (A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 2)
  • Murder at Maypole Manor (A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 3)
  • The Vanishing of Dr Winter (A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 4)
  • Murder of a Movie Star (A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 5)
  • Murder in Venice (A Posie Parker Mystery, Book 6)

To be the first to hear about L.B. Hathaway's new releases sign up for the newsletter on lbhathaway.com

©2019 L.B. Hathaway (P)2020 L.B. Hathaway

Featured Article: The Best Cozy Mysteries to Keep You Warm This Holiday Season


We’ve rounded up a list of some of the best cozy mystery audiobooks to help brighten up your winter listening. Here you'll find contemporary and historical cozies, classic whodunits and ingenious heist stories. While varying in tone, plot, and setting, these picks all share an irresistible holiday atmosphere. You'll find snowstorms galore, bakeries full of tasty holiday treats, glittering get-togethers, and picturesque English villages decked out in their holiday finest.

What listeners say about The Saltwater Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Immediately Captured my Attention and Held it.

A wonderful mystery that keeps one guessing until the end. The writing communicates a haunting sadness and increasing exhaustion in Posie as she pushes forward in grief.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Wow

This author is such a great storyteller and always draws me right in and keeps me guessing. What a horrible murder but what an incredible mystery.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply her words tell the story beautifully!

Again the story telling is so lovingly articulate. I also love her Reader! Poise herself is forever enchanting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

This book was great! Usually this far in a series the plot lines get fantastical or the writing sloppy but this was another well-written addition to the series!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Optional Heading That is Required?

Cozy listen. Likable characters, well paced. I will read another in this series. The end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My first in the series

My first Posie Parker in the series and I’m hooked. Even though it was my first, the author did a good job with the character building. I felt like I knew them. The mystery had a few good twists and turns. I enjoy cozy mysteries from the golden age and this one does a good job building the atmosphere from the 20s. Posie was indeed a lady before her time. I can’t wait to read the next installment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This was a good one.

I've audio-read another in this series and found it very weak in plot and logic. I tried this one anyway bcz I wanted to spend some vicarious time by the sea. This one was so much better, a GOOD plot and good detecting, solving rationales. Now I have to decide whether to risk another one ;)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall