Your audiobook is waiting…

Lying in Wait

Length: 8 hrs and 33 mins
4 out of 5 stars (427 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the international best-selling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.  

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. 

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life - wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. 

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

©2018 Liz Nugent (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    198
  • 4 Stars
    146
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    243
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ashley
  • Mckinney, TX, United States
  • 06-14-18

Simply amazing...

Wow. So so well written and interesting. Really broke the dry spell for me. This book will go in my top 20 for 2018 so far.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Keenan
  • Anchorage Alaska
  • 07-16-18

One of the best audiobooks I've ever heard.

This is me reading the first chapter: Omg. O.m.g. OMG! Then the story develops like the Matterhorn ride at Disneyland, pulled uphill in the dark and come whirling down again screaming OMG! It's a psychological thriller with gothic elements. The three actors who narrate it are engaging and talented and bring this otherwise insanely well-written book to life. It should be a movie. A really good movie. And I hope everyone buys all Liz Nugent's books and she keeps writing for years and years.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible ending

This book started out well. Overall I thought it was a decent story and was well- paced, and entertaining enough. However, the ending was absolutely terrible. I don't need a happy resolution to enjoy a story, but I can't handle an awful, nonsensical ending. It ruined the whole book for me. Proceed at your own risk.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fun ride but

it was a really fun ride and the i didn't want to stop listening but the ending really pissed me off. unsatisfying in every way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXEMPLARY!!!!!

This book is in the top five of the hundreds of books I've listened to on audible. There isn't a wasted word. I'm now a fan of Liz Nugent and I marvel at her ability to draw you in to her devastating imaginary world.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • rosemary
  • caledonia, WI, United States
  • 07-30-18

Wow

Blown out of the water by this gripping drama.
Liz Nugent is my new favorite author;narration was superb.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good up to a point

I enjoyed the book but was disappointed in the resolution. The narrator was good though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Whoa

Can't say much more than whoa without a spoiler, but this is a vicious, twisted little gem of a novel. Enjoy it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So crazy

While, there are clues as to what is lying ahead... it still shocks you. A well written story and it was performed very well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Just finished and I am creeped out!

Sort of reminds me of an Alfred Hitchcock ending. Story kept me listening and narration is good.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful