adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Thirteen American cities devastated by nuclear bombs. Hundreds of thousands of people dead. And a nation descending into chaos...

After fleeing the radioactive ruins of Miami, Dakota and Logan finally reach their destination: a cabin deep in the Everglades, surrounded by a million acres of saw grass rivers, cypress forests, and gator-infested swampland.

It was supposed to be safe. It's not. Now, Dakota and Logan must fight to save the place that was supposed to save them. It's not only their home, it's their future. 

But something much larger and more insidious lurks, waiting and watching, preparing to destroy America for good...

Featuring riveting, edge-of-your-seat action and compelling characters, the acclaimed Nuclear Dawn apocalyptic survival series explores what could happen if terrorists executed a nuclear attack on the United States, told from the perspectives of ordinary people determined to survive.

Perfect for fans of Ryan Schow, Logan Keys, Harley Tate, Bobby Akart, and Grace Hamilton.

Please note: The book includes mild language and moderate violence. 

©2019 Kyla Stone (P)2019 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Into the Fire

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    174
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Escape to the Swamp

Dakota, Eden, Logan, Julio and Park have arrived at Ezra's cabin in the Florida Everglades in this fourth book of the 'Nuclear Dawn' series written by Kyla Stone. The action begins immediately after the cliffhanger ending of Book 3. If you haven't read/listened to the prior installments in this series, it would be a good idea to do that before getting to this one. These books don't stand alone well, in my opinion.

As Dakota's group find their way to Ezra's cabin, Maddox's information allows the cult group to find Ezra first. Using torture, they attempt to obtain information on the whereabouts of Dakota and Eden. Maddox and the Shepherds remain a threat throughout the book, with a climactic shootout. While staying alert for more Shepherds to arrive, the group meet fellow residents who have also live in the swamp. Will they become allies or enemies? Who will survive?

Quite a bit of tension develops with this installment. As predicted, Ezra is not keen on Dakota bringing strangers to his home. The local residents don't seem too keen on the newcomers either. And there's always the looming threat of Maddox coming to exact his revenge. On top of all that, the residents are dealing with refugees arriving from the city, looking for hand-outs or whatever they can take. Kyla Stone delivers suspense from multiple avenues with this part of the story. She's skilled at keeping readers in a constant state of suspense.

The reader gets a good amount of character development here as well. From Maddox's POV we see more of what is driving his behavior. He also gives readers a fuller behind-the-scenes look at what the Shepherds are up to. Dakota and Logan are still dealing with their guilt, but have finally admitted to each other their romantic feelings. I was glad to see that last part happen after the build up to it throughout the series.

Thankfully, there is no cliffhanger here. The ending, while not finishing the overall arc, has a very satisfying end-point, giving readers the sense that this chapter is complete.

Stacey Glemboski is ever perfect with her performance here. She's able to convey the emotions of the characters in a believable way.

I listened to this audiobook courtesy of a free review copy that I requested. This post is my honest, voluntary opinion of it.

Recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Incomplete story

The pace picked up a little in this episode of the story, but it's become more contrived. The interpersonal relations between Dakota and Logan deteriorated into utter absurdity. Again, the story is incomplete, ending in another cliffhanger.

Stacey Glemboski delivers an excellent performance. She gives distinctive voices to the characters and paces her narration well.

Note: I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Into the Fire

A great continuation to a great series! This book is full of action, but it has so much more. Kyla Stone has created amazing characters, full of flaws and just trying to survive in a world decimated by nuclear attack.

The author tells the main characters' stories with great emotion and the narrator does an amazing job in portraying these emotions. You could really feel the pain as Dakota, Eden and Logan finally revealed their innermost feelings. I have been waiting for these stories since the very first book, so I am glad that the author did such a great job in telling them.

Of course, some characters that the reader has come to love are killed (no spoilers from me), but I have come to expect that in a post-apocalyptic book. Emotions are laid raw as the other characters try to deal with the losses and I could really feel their pain.

The narrator, Stacey Glemboski, does a fantastic job. Her pacing and emotion is perfect and her performance really added a lot to my enjoyment of this book. I am so glad that I have the final book in this series in my Library because I don't wait to see how the whole thing ends!

I was given the chance to listen to the audiobook version of this book by the author/publisher/narrator and chose to review it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE all of Kyla Stones books, she's a fabulous writer. My only complaint is her over use of the word FIERCE. I swear, she uses the word fierce in every 3rd paragraph in all her books. It's REALLY annoying, but I always over look it because the stories are so good! I think someone needs to buy her a thesaurus asap! Lol 😂

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Exciting Adventure!

With 'Into the Fire,' Kyla Stone continues, with her excellent abilities, in creating a world, and characters, which feels every bit as real as what awaits each of us just beyond our front doors. Stone has become a favourite author of mine, and this book didn't disappoint!

Once again, the most awesomely talented Stacey Glemboski brings the dangers, hopes, fears, and dreams of Stone's characters to life like no one else could. With each new book, I find myself more in awe at how these two professionals can create and breathe such passionate life into these literary thrillers.

I'm not giving ANYTHING away in my reviews. These books deserve to be experienced as the author intended (walking into them not knowing what to feel or expect), and I wouldn't have it any other way! But, trust me, you are in for a treat!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the read.

Nice technical details. If I learn one fact not already in my cerebral library, life is good. Overall, the series was good enough to prompt the purchase of book 4 so there ya go.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice continuation of the story

I continue to enjoy the storyline and development of the characters. A few good twists.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story Continues in Book 4

I was given this free review copy audio-book at my request and have voluntarily left this review. This review is for the audio copy of Into the Fire - Nuclear Dawn, Book 4 by Kyla Stone and narrated by Stacey Glemboski. This continues to be a great story. Character development remains consistent and realistic. This book also kept me engaged and listening to it constantly. Stacey makes that easy but, of course, the story helps too, lol. Overall this was a great story continuing the saga and I highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great addition to the storyline!

I really like the narrator that Ms. Stone is using for her audible books. She really brings the story and characters to life. This is a great series, I love the fast pace and lots of action of the story and the great characters. I can not wait to see how the series ends. If you have not listen or read any of these books then you are missing out. Get the books and leave your reviews.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a good sequel

It's no surprise that I absolutely love this series. I can't get enough of it, and this book was no different. Once again, Stone keeps your attention, and draws you into the post apocalyptic world to see what's going to happen to the characters, who will survive, and how they will make it through. I was hooked from the start, and actually read this from start to finish in one day.
I can't say enough good things about this series (I've actually sent a copy of this series to my sister, and told my boss that he has to read it). It's a great ride, with wonderful characters, and cool world building.
Stone is a great writer, and I'm so excited to read the last book of this series!