Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don't miss this "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets - perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: Survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why - or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. 

To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch - and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: Dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. 

Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: A twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

©2020 Jennifer Lynn Barnes (P)2020 Little, Brown Young Readers

Critic Reviews

"Barnes's meticulously crafted novel is like the film Knives Out for the YA world, perfect for any reader seeking suspense, romance, and glamour....Barnes crafts high-stakes tension, a swoony love triangle, and a large but memorable cast of characters. Fun and fast-paced, fans of Karen M. McManus's One of Us is Lying and Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious will find a new home at Hawthorne House." (SLJ)

"A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and high-stakes treasure hunt, set in the mysterious world of Texas billionaires. The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page!" (Katharine McGee, New York Times best-selling author of American Royals

 "Part The Westing Game, part We Were Liars, completely entertaining." (Kirkus

What listeners say about Inheritance Games

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad

I enjoyed the story (as I do with most of Jennifer Lynn Barnes' books!) but I think reading it would have been a better experience for me than listening to it. I didn't love the narrator's voice, I thought she sometimes sounded on the verge of getting a cold and little nasal. My bigger complain was the Hawthorne boys' voices. She wasn't the best with the accents (I'm southern, so I'm real familiar with what that accent sounds like and the one British accent wasn't spot on either...I guess I'm just being picky) but it was the combination of the accent and her "boy voices" that wasn't good to me. It sounded more like a old lady voices than teen/twenty-something voices. It wasn't bad enough that I would necessarily steer anyone away from the audio format, I just think a different narrator could have been a better fit. Not a bad listen though, I started it yesterday and just finished.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Promising start

Really not sure what to compare this book to. I've seen some people say Hunger Games others Knives Out, and I don't think either of those actually fit all that well. But what I will say, is that Ms. Barnes eaves an intriguing and engaging tale of secrets upon secrets and I look forward to seeing where the story goes from here. This is mostly a mystery, slight thriller, with just a hint of romance( though I could definitely see the romance angle getting played up more as the series goes on) .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not sure

Thiscouldbea stand alone work but Autjor does set up great hook to continue... Really like all the treasure hunting in here. Weird and totally screwed up family. I do believe there could be more. Not certain if was happy with the way it ended or not? I do know I will be looking for other books by this author. It was a fun ride.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

This was amazing. Randomly chose it and couldn't stop listening. The ending though... Need more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Very good and well written. Smart book That keeps you guessing. A good light read

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I’m glad I didn’t buy this book

It was okay I didn’t really enjoy the scavenger hunt or the ending. It got a little painful to listen to but I’m bored at work so I finished it!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not as described

Definitely for younger teens, middle grade probably more accurate. Easy to guess the ending, far too simple to be YA.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Part scavenger hunt part mystery!!

Couldn't put it down! Can't wait for book 2!! If you like scavenger hunts I highly recommend!