Regular price: $28.51

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan - the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village - The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley's sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps toward a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly perfect daughter of one of New York's wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others, as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City - an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world, and the mysteries of the human spirit.

©2016 Aidan Donnelley Rowley (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Lovely Portrait of The City

and a thought provoking week long peek into the lives of 3 exceptional residents.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although I cannot imagine possessing the means, education or remarkable talent/skill that would allow me the privilege of making my home and profession in NYC, the story resonated with me. Affluence, breeding along with a highly compensated career don't necessarily produce a joyful carefree life do they? Everyone struggles with their past & future from time to time. Everyone experiences the best of times and the worst of times. The level of courage required to take "that" leap of faith toward the unknown is what separates a great life from an average existence.
A sweet story - authentic characters - real emotions - failures and triumphs - joy and sorrow. No matter the place or individuals involved, The Ramblers felt true to me.
I loved the descriptions of real places in the city.
All in all, a joyful thought compelling love letter to the greatest city in the world and the human struggle common to everyone no matter where we live and love.
Thank you for this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Too much angst

A slow narrative, minimal plot but plenty of character drama and endless angst. I did grow to care about Clio, Smith and Tate, but sometimes I wanted to tell them to stop agonizing on just move on....the narration was ok, except for constant chuckling when the prose indicated "he/she laughed". It got really annoying.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing

I expected more from this novel. Felt the story was predictable & Danielle Steeleish. Reader mediocre.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Poor narration

The narrator's voice bothered me. More so, that she seemed to have an Irish accent....not appropriate for 3 characters that grew up in NYC.