Your audiobook is waiting…

The Editor

Narrated by: Michael Urie
Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
4 out of 5 stars (55 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of Lily and the Octopus comes a novel about a struggling writer who gets his big break, with a little help from the most famous woman in America.

After years of trying to make it as a writer in 1990s New York City, James Smale finally sells his novel to an editor at a major publishing house: none other than Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Jackie - or Mrs. Onassis, as she's known in the office - has fallen in love with James' candidly autobiographical novel, one that exposes his own dysfunctional family. But when the book's forthcoming publication threatens to unravel already fragile relationships, both within his family and with his partner, James finds that he can't bring himself to finish the manuscript. 

Jackie and James develop an unexpected friendship, and she pushes him to write an authentic ending, encouraging him to head home to confront the truth about his relationship with his mother. Then a long-held family secret is revealed, and he realizes his editor may have had a larger plan that goes beyond the page....

From the best-selling author of Lily and the Octopus comes a funny, poignant, and highly original novel about an author whose relationship with his very famous book editor will change him forever - as both a writer and a son.

©2019 Steven Rowley (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Steven Rowley has hit a home run. What a stunning portrayal of family this is. At turns equally laugh-out-loud funny and searingly poignant, Rowley has created a truly unforgettable story of a son trying to understand his mother. The Editor is one of those exceptional stories that is both a joy to read on every page and also deeply profound and significant. It took my breath away." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones & the Six)

"The Editor is a sweet and charming novel, perfect for fans of Jackie O and Rowley's first novel, Lily and the Octopus, alike." (PopSugar)

"A poignant tale...Rowley deliberately mines the sentiment of the mother/son bond, but skillfully saves it from sentimentality; this is a winning dissection of family, forgiveness, and fame." (Publishers Weekly

“While diving deep into questions of identity, loyalty, and absolution within the bonds of family, Rowley, author of the beloved Lily and the Octopus, soars to satisfying heights in this deeply sensitive depiction of the symbiotic relationships at the heart of every good professional, and personal, partnership.” (Booklist)

  • One of PopSugar's "Buzzy Books to Read This Spring"

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Great story..... could have done without some of the erotic sex.... not needed for story .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

I loved this experience. Michael Urie was absolutely the perfect person to tell Francis’ story. The story itself was a stunning picture of the complicated yet loving relationship of a mother and son; of a family; of love. I laughed out loud and cried softly. I loved Lily and the octopus and this was even more amazing, I can’t wait for his next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Editor

I purchased this title as soon as it was available, not knowing what it was about. Lily and the Octopus was one of the best audiobooks I have ever owned, so I didn't think twice when The Editor was available to buy. I felt it dragged at times, but still has the same heart as Rowley's previous novel. I love his honesty and his ability to touch a reader without being cheesy. I also could listen to Michael Urie read the phonebook; he's very talented as a narrator. I would definitely reccomend this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Charming story and narration

The book was witty, charming, and interesting. Michael Urie made the book even more charming!