Regular price: $20.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A psychological thriller for readers of The Good Girl and Girl on a Train, The Wrong Sister follows a woman with a troubled past whose search for the truth is fascinating, chilling, and ultimately horrifying.

Sometimes a perfect stranger...

From behind the wheel of her car, Tess Kincaid glimpses a woman walking down a Madison, Wisconsin, street. They've never met, but Tess senses an undeniable familiarity about her. Hair color, square chin, wide-set blue eyes... Tess sees the same features every time she looks in the mirror.

Is neither of those things.

Intrigued, Tess introduces herself and discovers that she and her doppelganger, Mimi, have more than appearance in common. They even share the same birthday. Mimi - confident and outgoing where Tess is understated and shy - is convinced they're twins, separated shortly after birth. Tess, who's felt unloved and unmoored since her mother disappeared years ago, only knows that there's more than coincidence at play. And when a body is discovered in a local marsh, Tess is entangled in a search for the truth that will prove fascinating, disconcerting, and ultimately terrifying....

©2018 T. E. Woods (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. Published by arrangement with Kensington Publishing Corp.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    697
  • 4 Stars
    367
  • 3 Stars
    187
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    31

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    815
  • 4 Stars
    284
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    21

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    624
  • 4 Stars
    329
  • 3 Stars
    182
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    39
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nothing like anything T E Woods has written B4!!!

This is a very good rather strange story. The protagonist, Tess sees a woman on the street who at first glance looks similar to herself. Tess goes looking for the woman in the hotel she saw her walking out of and ends up bumping into her in the restroom. A look in the mirror and the two of them are convinced it's more than a coincidence. The woman (Mimi) invites herself back to Tess's apartment. Then she invites herself to spend the night. The next morning she helps herself to Tess"s clothes.
Tess's life begins to spiral. She starts seeing a new man and while on a date she sees Mimi running from the restaurant. Then Mimi starts impersonating Tess.
Wow, I thought this book was going to be predictable, think again. This is a really good story, it kind of reminds me of D M Pulley's style. This is nothing like anything T E Woods has written before.
Great psychological thriller! This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
Angela Dawe does a fantastic job narrating.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

128 of 133 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 03-01-18

Very dark psychological thriller!

The Wrong Sister is the eighth novel released by clinical psychologist T.E. (Teri) Woods. I rated each of the 6 novels in the Justice/Fixer series 5 stars just as I rated the first novel in the Hush Money series (titled Hush Money). The publisher's summary for The Wrong Sister compares the novel to Gone Girl seems inapt; Tess Kincaid in this novel is genuinely mentally ill while Amy Dunne of Gone Girl fame is sane and evil. I rate The Wrong Sister "only" 4 stars and I strongly recommend it; the novel is excellent. I am not usually a fan of narrator Angela Dawe, but she does a fine job here.

T. E. Woods is a rare writing and story telling talent. I look forward to her next two releases both in her Hush money series.

85 of 89 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The Wrong Use of a Credit

The Wrong Sister??? More like the wrong use of a credit. Could’ve been an okay storyline but the main character Tess is beyond obnoxious and never gets any better. The performance was annoying the whole way through. Listened until the end just hoping that maybe it might get better.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book... even better performance

Great book but the performance by Angela took it over the top. Perfect . Definitely a recommendation.

48 of 54 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Seriously? Did I just pay for this book?

This is quite possibly the worst book I've chosen in many months. I wasn't going to finish it but in respect for the author and the fact that I paid money for this I fast forwarded just to see if it got any better. It did not. It always surprises me how many authors bank on readers falling for plot holes. This book has a ton of them. It was sadly predictable and felt like many other books except late to the game. The main character is made out as a plucky mid-western woman with more snark and sadness than was tolerable without a fast forward button. I only skimmed to the end in hopes there was a minor twist but it was exactly what I thought from chapter 3.

87 of 99 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Stunned by the positive reviews

Such a hard time listening to this from start to finish. Kept hitting the plus 30 seconds button. Tess was so obnoxious, storyline was beyond ridiculous.

46 of 53 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst book!

Took until chapter 27 for something to actually happen. I keep falling asleep finally finished.

33 of 38 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Eh.. didn’t hate it. But didn’t love it

Interesting enough to keep you reading, but there was a LOT of repetition and the main character got me so angry at times being a drag. Narrator did well with what she was working with. If you stick through it the ending is interesting!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The wrong sister

What a let down... the reviews were awesome I think they must have been listening to a different book!! What a waste of a credit!! Don't make the same mistake I did... Pass on this book!

24 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Momx3
  • Boston, MA
  • 05-16-18

Painfully slow, annoying and predictable

This story took waaaaaayyyyy too long to tell. Character development was horrible and the plot full of holes. Narration was quite good though.

22 of 27 people found this review helpful