Your audiobook is waiting…

The Last Romantics

A Novel
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 12 hrs and 14 mins
4 out of 5 stars (193 ratings)
Regular price: $30.79
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of The House Girl comes a novel about our most precious and dangerous attachment: family.

In the spring of 1981, the young Skinner siblings - fierce Renee, dreamy Caroline, golden-boy Joe, and watchful Fiona - lose their father to a heart attack and their mother to a paralyzing depression, events that thrust them into a period they will later call “the Pause”. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the siblings navigate the dangers and resentments of the Pause to emerge fiercely loyal and deeply connected. 

Two decades later, the Skinners find themselves again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and what, exactly, they will do for love.

Narrated nearly a century later by the youngest sibling, the renowned poet Fiona Skinner, The Last Romantics spans a lifetime. It’s a story of sex and affection, sacrifice and selfishness, deeply held principles and dashed expectations, a lost engagement ring, a squandered baseball scholarship, unsupervised summers at the neighborhood pond, and an iconic book of love poems. But most of all, it is the story of Renee, Caroline, Joe, and Fiona: the ways they support each other, the ways they betray each other, and the ways they knit back together bonds they have fractured.

In the vein of Commonwealth, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Nest, this is a panoramic, tenderly insightful novel about one devoted, imperfect family. The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the responsibilities we bear both gracefully and unwillingly and the all-important, ever-complex definition of love.

©2019 Tara Conklin (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Maybe the best book I ever read

I am not a reader of romance novels Please do not mistake this book for a genetic love story. This book is an autobiography of every family headed by a strong woman. In reading this book you are a visitor that's allowed to share their story as they grow & change and negotiate their lives thru the struggles any family goes thru lifetimes of experiences.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JoJo46
  • McKinney, TX, US
  • 03-15-19

I love Cassandra Campbell.

She was wonderful in Lilac Girls and Where The Crawdads Sing and equally good in this. I think I would not have enjoyed the book as much if I had read instead of listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

incredibly depressing

Very emotional, very depressing. I think it tries to be uplighting but it's not. Tragically performed, but that's honest to the text.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator

Need much better narration. She was so boring and all the men sound like Joe. I would rather her just read in a normal voice. It was just boring and I don’t know whether it was the story or the narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Couldn’t wait for this to end. Did not enjoy this but wanted to. Having the narrator live to be over 100 and living post-disaster didn’t work for me. Will try Tara’s first book.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I had high hopes...

I grabbed this book because Jenna Bush Hager chose it for her book club. It started slow but I vowed to keep at it. 3 hours in I couldn't torture myself any longer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best.

I downloaded this book because of Jenna Bush Hager and I am so happy I did! What a wonderful love story that travels through decades and the closeness that a family feels for each other whether together or apart.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Tragic but good

I struggled to follow with the time line going all over the place but it was over all good. you very much need to come up with the finer points on somethings as it's not spelled out there is a lot of speculation. but it's a good book over all.