We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (522 )
5 star
 (277)
4 star
 (180)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.3 (485 )
5 star
 (244)
4 star
 (170)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.6 (482 )
5 star
 (315)
4 star
 (133)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Mr. R. P. Andrews
    Reviewsville
    10/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A solid 4 stars"

    Firstly, this is a very enjoyable listen with some wholly likeable characters. To be brutally honest though, there are far better options out there and the book is, in my opinion, overhyped. At times it also feels that the author has borrowed bits and bobs from recently successful crime thrillers. Anyone agree?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • alan johns
    Moffat UK
    10/13/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Had me hooked from the first chapter, the sequel is downloading as I type, a must listen

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Adrienne
    Cambs
    10/6/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great character!"

    this was an easy book to listen to...I found myself trying to figure out who the murderer was when I wasn't listening go the story... always a good sign. loved both the main characters and am looking forward to listening to the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J. Dunbar
    UK
    10/6/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too Slow For Me"

    A very involved story but for me a bit slow, nearly gave up at one stage. A lot of characters to keep track of.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Vicuña
    UK
    10/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good plot a little over egged"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Strong characters, particularly Cormoran Strike, the PI central to the story. He has an interesting, if slightly convoluted back story, but I enjoyed his approach and analysis as the plot unfolds.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The plotting is. Quite complex, with numerous characters and strands which are drawn together bit by bit. No stand out moments, but strong storytelling, mainly.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The final pages where the killer is revealed.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Too long, not possible, so no.


    Any additional comments?

    Enjoyed overall,but found attention drifting in the latter chapters. In fact I dozed off for 45 mins and without rewinding, was still able to follow the plot etc. great narration helped maintain where I think I'd have geen skim reading in part.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs. D. E. Broadbent
    UK
    10/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully narrated story"

    I loved this story, although maybe a tad too long, but Robert Glenister's narration was perfect. Strike is a very appealing character perfect blend of vulnerability and strength and of course his developing relationship with Robyn adds to this appeal.
    J K Rowling mischievously creates great characters, that I feel she has actually probably met😉.
    Can't wait for the next book in this series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • M. Jones
    Swansea,UK
    10/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beware of very bad language used throughout story"
    If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

    A potentially good book for me ruined by terrible 4 letter words used throughout.


    What will your next listen be?

    Martin Beck


    Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Robert Glenister?

    Robert Glenister is good


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Cuckoo's Calling?

    None. Just moderate the bad language


    Any additional comments?

    Not suitable for sensitive listeners

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Andrea Edan
    London
    10/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great page turner"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Robert Galbraith's book moves along with delicious twists and turns and Cormoran Strike is a lovely anti-hero. Robert Glenister's narration brings the book to life. Hope he does more. Already downloaded book 2....


    What did you like best about this story?

    Everything.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    All. Great narration. Very professional as you would expect from such a good actor.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Edge of the seat who dunnit until the very end.


    Any additional comments?

    More please.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Fen
    10/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "one of my favourite novels, beautifully narrated "

    absolutely loved everything about this audio book. I read the novel not long ago, but I was totally gripped (once again) by the audio version. the narration is great - captures the characters so well!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Derek
    HULL, United Kingdom
    9/30/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Abosolutely brilliant"

    What a cracking story, wonderful interesting characters, great plot. Engaged me from the start, lolling forward to the next books on the series.
    Robert Glenister's narration is spot on.
    I was quite honestly disappointed when the book came to an end.
    I didn't realise until half way through that Robert Galbraith is the pen name of JK Rowling (word of warning, this is not for the kids)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.