We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Roar Audiobook

Roar

Regular Price:$0.00

Publisher's Summary

A short story for fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve. Step into the fragile domestic world of Roar and discover the unforgettable voice of Nicole Trope, best-selling author of The Secrets in Silence, Three Hours Late and The Boy Under the Table.

The baby sleeps peacefully, filled with milk and contentment. The man on the bed breathes his way into the darkness, filled with rage. Was there ever really a choice?

From the queen of searing family drama and suspense comes a short story about the fierce bonds between mother and child, the things we sacrifice to protect the ones we love and the desperate choices we make when there's nowhere left to run.

©2014 Nicole Trope (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (96 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (9)
Overall
3.6 (78 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (10)
Story
3.9 (78 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    SkinnyTurtle 07-31-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to follow, but very captivating."

    I loved being invited into this poor abused woman's world. I found the story a bit hard to follow, but listening to it twice was a treat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dhawk 05-30-17
    Dhawk 05-30-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    72
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    285
    191
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "suprising!!!"

    This went decidedly left when I thought it woyld go right. Lol. Don't push people cause you never know just how close to the edge they may be....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cecily Mich. 05-08-17
    Cecily Mich. 05-08-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Describes desperate murder"

    This was a really sad and cowardly way to get out of this situation. This tells a story of a woman who married a man seeking self worth. And didn't have the means or the courage to get out and away when she really needed to. What is even sadder is that so many parents stop parenting and fail to tell their married children, especially their daughters, that they still have so much potential. Our children should be independent and strong before they ever marry a loving equal to share an amazing life with. Also, that older couple had a surprise child and didn't have anything saved up to give her or a life insurance in her name. Yes, I'm angry at this story for showing such depth of desperation, yet thankful to the author for highlighting these particular problems.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christina Hamby 04-11-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    Overall
    "Strength"

    True love of a mother and strength to move on. the only choice she could make.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Love2Read 02-23-17
    Love2Read 02-23-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow!"
    What does Susan Strafford bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her narration adds to the tension of the story. Her well-paced narration ups the suspense.


    Who was the most memorable character of Roar and why?

    The mother


    Any additional comments?

    Wow! This very short audio book was crammed with attention grabbing detail and tension. The story set my nerves on end, and the narration ramped that up several notches in it's delivery. It was perfect in almost every way.

    My one question concerns the use of insulin. The protagonist goes to her mother's every day to inject her with insulin, so her mother won't have to do it herself. There's no mention of blood testing. I wonder whether it's a common practice to do a once a day insulin injection like that? Isn't it supposed to be dosed based on blood glucose levels, amount of food eaten, and activity level? Other than that one small thing, I think this was a great book and would recommend it to those who love mystery, thriller, and suspense books.

    Highly recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms Mills 01-28-17
    Ms Mills 01-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Decent short story, worth a listen"

    I wasn't blown away by this, but not sorry that I purchased as a daily deal.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.