adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Where is he? Where’s my beloved child with his father’s blue eyes and a halo of golden curls? My little boy is out there on his own. Please keep him safe, I silently beg. Please, please just keep him safe. 

"Your son is missing," they say, and life as I know it is over. "Where would he go?" the police ask. "Where would he be?" my daughter begs. 

My heart races as images flash in my mind. The cabin we rent every autumn, surrounded by fiery-red maple trees. Voices raised. Tears falling. A marriage falling apart. And worst of all my husband telling our child, Theo, to run. 

The rest is a blank in my memory. If I close my eyes I can almost see it. A betrayal that has left me alone, in tatters, grieving for what we had. 

It wasn’t meant to be like that. It should have been precious time as a family, with board games, walks in the mountain, and pancakes for breakfast.

Instead my little one is has vanished. "They are looking for him," the nurse told me, "but the storm is slowing down the search."

The police think Theo has the answers, that he knows what tore our family apart. But I have no idea where he is. No clue if he is safe. And that’s the most terrifying thing of all....

A completely gripping, beautifully written, and totally heartbreaking pause-resister, which examines what happens behind closed doors, and the secrets that can shatter a family. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Liane Moriarty will be totally addicted to this breathtaking novel.

©2021 Nicole Trope (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Bring Him Home

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful listen

loved the narrator, the story was wonderful, loved the boy character. I have an autistic grandson, the character was very simular to him. well written, listened to the book without taking a break. definitely recommend this book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this story a lot!

This was an amazing story! It wasn't the type of book I normally like but this kept me guessing, suspecting, and awaiting the story to tell it's self. It was a wonderful read/listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hit Or Miss

Nicole Trope's books have been kinda hit or miss for me. I've found some that I liked, and some that just didn't do it for me. This one (as well as the phone she previews at the end -- The Boy In The Photo -- ironically) didn't do it for me. I found it not so much "emotional" or "gripping" or "unputdownable" as annoying. The only thing that made it "unputdownable" was dogged determination to finish the darn thing, and the only thing "emotional" about it was when it just wouldn't end. Sorry.

First of all, the "revised" title is a bit misleading. I had to check the book description to make sure I was reading the right book. It's not so much about a woman who "kissed her son good night and woke up to find him missing" as the subtitle suggests. It's about a broken family that is barely holding on by a thread, a mysterious tragedy occurs that leaves Mom with selective silence, Dad in critical condition, and caused 11 Year Old autistic son to run for help into the woods, where he *happens* to meet the one other person in the area who not only *happens* to have an autistic brother who *happened* to behave exactly like this kid, but then they both just so *happen* to get rescued in the woods on a rainy night by the woman’s own nephew. I believe in God and miracles, but I was annoyed by how convenient this all was in a literary sense.

There is a twist, I'll give it that, but I found it more annoying than shocking. Even so, I had it mostly figured out with 4.5 hours left on the clock. With 2 hours remaining, they dropped "the twist" and mostly confirmed my guess. And then it just kept going. By the end, I no longer had any emotional attachment to anyone. I just wanted it to be over so I could move on.

I am willing to try Nicole Trope's books because of the when that I've enjoyed, but sadly this fell short of the mark for me.