We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
It Devours! Audiobook

It Devours!: A Welcome to Night Vale Novel

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the authors of the New York Times best-selling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the creators of the international podcast of the same name comes a mystery exploring the intersections of faith and science, the growing relationship between two young people who want desperately to trust each other, and the terrifying, toothy power of the Smiling God.

Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to the town of Night Vale. Working for Carlos, the town's top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when Carlos gives her a special assignment investigating a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town. This investigation leads her to the Joyous Congregation of the Smiling God and to Darryl, one of its most committed members. Caught between her beliefs in the ultimate power of science and her growing attraction to Darryl, she begins to suspect the Congregation is planning a ritual that could threaten the lives of everyone in town. Nilanjana and Darryl must search for common ground between their very different worldviews as they are faced with the congregation's darkest and most terrible secret.

©2017 Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (368 )
5 star
 (279)
4 star
 (63)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.5 (341 )
5 star
 (228)
4 star
 (77)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.9 (343 )
5 star
 (318)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tyler 11-15-17
    Tyler 11-15-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I love the original Night Vale Novel and this one was just as wonderful! The story was good, the nonsense was amazing, and the atmosphere was great. A+ narration as always!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew Honsberger 11-14-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "From a fan of Welcome to Night Vale"

    Great listen. I think that the story is definitely accessible to all, but there is definitely a great appreciation for the finer details of the story when you've listened to the Podcast. Performed perfectly by Cecil. Full marks.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    FalchionM 11-13-17
    FalchionM 11-13-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Consuming concept"

    This stand alone novel in the welcome to NightVale universe is a darkly absurd mystery in the vein of A Lee Martinez, Terry Pratchett, & Douglas Adams. But like none of them too, because it builds its roads. The Smiling God is given a voice rather than the vague references in the podcast. And it is hungry. And it likes you. The vague, yet menacing government agency also feels left out for all the hard work they’ve done. Visit this book & leave a little bit odder than when you first arrived.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kryptography West Sacramento CA, CA, United States 11-12-17
    Kryptography West Sacramento CA, CA, United States 11-12-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long time fan of Nightvale, but this was bad"

    False, IMO lazy equivalency between science and religion.

    This is a very bad time to pat religion and religious people on the head and say "see, science is just as bad, it does bad stuff too, and faith in science and faith in religion are basically the same." They really are not. In a world in which a large and dangerous number of people are embracing horrible old nationalist elements and listening to "religious" leaders who are guiding them to homophobia, nationalism and racism, telling people that there's no reason to trust science is IMO not a good idea.

    We need to demand more, and the only way to get there is to embrace reason and not provide support for the argument that science is "just as bad" or dangerous.

    Yes, yes I know that Nightvale isn't set in reality but when the show and the books work, they work as metaphor. Carlos is clearly the stand-in for reason and science here, and making him the "real bad guy" of the book is just grossly irresponsible and IMO not a good or reasonable metaphor in the current climate.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eden Starnes 11-09-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My new favorite WTNV story"

    Honestly, this was such an amazing insightfully feel novel that I️ look forward to reading time and again!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Natalie Thaddeus 11-07-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    2
    Overall
    "Religion, Science, Love, Family, and Mystery"

    I've been listening to WTNV for several years now and this fits right in! it has the same other worldly surprised that the podcast does while saying so much about what's happening in real life. It is so good!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    João Teixeira Duarte 11-07-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful mix"

    The book takes the incredible universe of Night Vale (from the “Welcome to Night Vale” podcast) and builds on it with a story arch that actually fits the universe perfectly.
    It’s a delight to hear it narrated by Cecil as always.
    Above all, it mixes the plausible yet coherent absurdity that defines Night Vale (and makes it such a wonderful place to visit) with a truly deep story with real elaborate and three-dimensional characters with real life dilemmas we have come across in our not so secret-world-government-ruled lives.
    Definitely worth a read/listen, same as the original Welcome to Night Vale novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lester 11-05-17
    Lester 11-05-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just for fans"

    I really don't think that this was a story good enogh to be a full book. Yes, it has some funny moments, but unless you are already a fan of the brand you will be a little bored

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandon 11-04-17
    Brandon 11-04-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Story about Night Vale and so Much More"

    A look at the relationship between belief and observation that is delicate, engaging, and, in typical Night Vale style, delightfully strange.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jody 11-02-17
    Jody 11-02-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "AHHHHHHHHHHHHH."

    Is a feeling one would have about this book. wow, is a statement as well.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.