Regular price: $27.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, Robin Black's If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all.

Written with maturity and insight, and in beautiful, clear-eyed prose, these stories plumb the depths of love, loss, and hope.

A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter's infidelity, even as she keeps a disturbing secret of her own. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting a dying man's portrait. An accident on a trip to Italy and an unexpected connection with a stranger cause a woman to question her lifelong assumptions about herself.

Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves.

©2010 Robin Black (P)2010 Random House

Critic Reviews

"A wonderfully rich and rewarding story collection by a debut writer that's not to miss for fans of Alice Munro or Lorrie Moore." (Louisville Courier Journal)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1