Get a Life, Chloe Brown

A Novel
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Series: The Brown Sisters, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (625 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Absolutely charming...a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” (Helen Hoang, USA Today best-selling author of The Bride Test)

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things - perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost - but not quite - dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.

Ride a motorcycle.

Go camping.

Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.

Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.

And...do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford "Red" Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than 10,000 Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior.... 

©2019 Talia Hibbert (P)2019 HarperAudio

Featured Article: The Best British Narrators


If you're looking for an audiobook in an accent, check out these listens from our favorite British narrators. Authenticity is something many listeners value in their audiobook experiences, and that often boils down to narration style and accents. Although so many audiobooks are narrated by many talented actors with wide ranges, sometimes it's just nice to listen to an audiobook performed by someone in their native accent. If you're searching for the best British narrators, look no further. We’ve done the tough job of picking just ten of our favorite British narrators that you'll love listening to.

What listeners say about Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    390
  • 4 Stars
    148
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    386
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    347
  • 4 Stars
    127
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

ugh.

I'll apologize, up front, for the annoyed tone of this review and for any "spoilers." It's just that my irritation at wasting several hours of time is fresh. :) I was listening to this for a book club, or I'd have turned it off a LONG time ago. The "book" is hours and hours of describing, in ridiculous detail, every tingle and thought... we get it already... attracted to each other... blahblahblah It's the most predictable story line ever... he thinks she's a prissy bitch... she thinks he's rude... they can't "figure out" this nagging attraction... they get to know each other... fall in love... tingle n squirm... sex... break up... can't live without you... back together... sappy happily ever after... the END (finally). See... I can write that in one badly-punctuated paragraph. The author could have done so much more to develop the characters. Instead, we got shallow puddles of neurotic need. I can't help but wonder how this got out of the publisher's garbage can. who are these people giving this 5 stars??? There is so much more out there to read. I'm off to find something that doesn't make my brain feel gross.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!!!!!!

I like all this author's work, but I absolutely loved this one. As a woman with a chronic illness I was thrilled to discover that the heroine had one also. It's so rare to find a character that I can relate to so completely. This is now one of my favorite books.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG!

This is the first novel I have listened to or read by Talia Hibbert. Prior to this novel I knew nothing about her. This Texas girl figured this was a USA contemporary romance. When the narrator began with a non-American voice, I thought "Okay." I went with the flow of the novel and I am so in love with this author! She did a wonderful job of writing this novel and the narrator did a great job of reading. I did think Chloe's voice sounded like Dame Judi Dench on occasion, but it did not distract me from this super funny and romantic story.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic reader but so wrong for this book

I gave the performance one star because the voice was way too old for this part. Listen to the sample and decide for yourself. It kind of drove me nuts. The voice sounded old enough to be the protagonist’s grandmother.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

THANK YOU TALIA HIBBERT!!!

I have never before felt so represented or understood; never have I been able to relate so deeply with a character in a book! And I never knew how wonderful it would feel to have this! As someone with, among other things, fibromyalgia and chronic pain, just like Chloe Brown, her story resonated with me like no other. I can’t begin to explain how this book, and the character of Chloe, can help people like me to feel seen, validated, and worthy—even deserving—of love. That, to me, is precious. And to have this story so well done, with such care, and a hilarious sense of humor, profound feeling, and sensuality—is just amazing!! I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who suffers with chronic illness themselves, or loves someone who does, or for anyone else who enjoys a great steamy rom-com. The narrator, Adjoa Andoh, did a great job as well. She was great with giving each character very distinct voices, and I enjoyed how she gave Red a more northern English accent. (But I love ALL British accents, so that may not count.) I also appreciated how her voice for Chloe subtly changed over the course of the book, as her character developed. Through her narration of Chloe, she showed us how she was growing and changing, bit by bit. Well done! **Warning** Contains graphic sexual scenes. If you don’t like, or are offended by, some scenes of light-erotica, this will probably not be the book for you.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Blew me away

This book was amazing. It was heart felt and emotional and sexy. I felt all the feelings. I absolutely loved both leads. They were complicated people with baggage that was realistic. I felt sympathy for both of them. The tenderness and strength they showed each other was beautiful. I will read this again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

peculiar voices

The narrarator's voice made the character's voices sound peculiar and older than what they were portrayed to be. Other than that, I truly enjoyed the book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Chloe and Red Got My Life Together

Although the narrator's voice seemed too old for the characters, I was still able to enjoy this love story. Their chemistry and banter was the highlight of the book. I loved that Chloe was not deemed some perfect, size zero heroine; it made her quite relatable. Also, it's nice to have ginger beau for a change. Ready for the second book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Nope

I'm not a fan! I wanted to like this book after so many wonderful reviews but sadly it's a dud. The narrator wasn't very good with the voices although she was consistent and I wondered if I should just finish this by reading the actual book. However I wasn't enjoying the whiny nature of this adult woman and the guy I just couldn't get into. The story was far fetched not to be a fantasy and well I just barely made it through. I thought I'd relate more with the woman character as I too suffer from a chronic illness with the same symptoms but sadly no. It wasn't horrible and yes I did finish it but I wouldn't pass it on or recommend it. These are my 2 cents.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Super Cute, and very well written

It's a modern fairy tale with a bit of a twist. The story starts off a little wobbly but it grows and the insights into these two slightly broken people are very well done. I'd recommend and am looking forward to reading about the next Brown sister!