Regular price: $31.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart
How steamy is it? Sizzling

Publisher's Summary

Dr. Olivia Simon is on duty in the emergency room of North Carolina's Outer Banks Hospital when a gunshot victim is brought in. Midway through the desperate effort to save the young woman's life, Olivia realizes who she is - Annie O'Neill, the woman Olivia's husband, Paul, is in love with.

When Annie dies on the operating table, she leaves behind three other victims: Alec O'Neill, who thought he had the perfect marriage; Paul, whose fixation on Annie is unshakable; and Olivia, who is desperate to understand the woman who destroyed her marriage. Now they are left with unanswered questions about who Annie really was - and about the secrets she kept hidden so well.

©2002 Diane Chamberlain (P)2014 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Engrossing, satisfying entertainment." ( Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    516
  • 4 Stars
    356
  • 3 Stars
    126
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    19

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    553
  • 4 Stars
    269
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    10

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    464
  • 4 Stars
    316
  • 3 Stars
    120
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    15
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully told

This story is so good, I might re - listen to it. The Narrator does an amazing job with this book. I would recommend this to everyone who loves a good love story .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating story and characters

Any additional comments?

The author creates interesting characters that I came to care about and will follow thru the rest of the series. She manages to weave history and details seamlessly throughout so that you end of learning about stained glass or lighthouses while following the trials and joys of the characters. Very much recommend!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

As an avid Audible listener, I purchase many books. I loved the story and the characters. Once I started listening, it was difficult to stop. It held a few surprises and I enjoyed the way the story ended.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy Listen

The story pulled me in pretty quickly and kept me interested. The journey of the story is a little predictable but that doesn't have to be a bad thing. I don't usually do sequel books but I will listen to the stories that follow in this one. I like the writer.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book, I enjoyed it immensely.

The story and the narration were mesmerizing. I could not put the book down. There were many twists and surprises that kept me wondering what would happen next.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible Boston Accents

What disappointed you about Keeper of the Light?

The story was predictable and unrealistic. The voices with a Boston accent were laughable, distracting, and just plain horrible.

What do you think your next listen will be?

The Good Girl

What didn’t you like about Arielle DeLisle’s performance?

If you can't do an accent authentically, then just don't do it. It was distracting and irritating to hear the accents done so poorly.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment

Any additional comments?

Don't waste your credits with this book!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Real Love On The Outer Banks

This was a good story but not as mesmerizing as the Silent Sister. I am happy to discover a new author who I admire

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Delightful Listen

The book, Keeper of the Light, was quite a listen. I'd have to say that each character had his or her need to be in the book. There were quite a few and I got to know all of them and enjoyed getting to know them. Some of them were nice and other's were not but that always makes for more excitement, edge of your seat listening and suspense. I wanted to know the ending before I got there.However, I've never submitted to that desire. The book is always more suspenseful if you are able to wait.

There is lots of love going on in the book. The most loved one is Annie. However, some loved her more than other's. The story takes place in Nags Head, South Carolina. Yes, the book travels back and forth in time but it's not at all difficult to follow. The character's were well developed and I got to know them all of them, even Annie's wicked parent's. The narrator, Arielle DeLisle, did a great job. She was able to jump from one character to the next with ease. The narrator plays an important part when listening to a book. I don't think that if you purchase this book you'll be disappointed. Although, the genre of this book is probably more to a woman's liking. Enjoy!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mom/RN
  • San Antonio, TX
  • 06-20-15

emotional and gripping

love! great characters and fantastic narration! the story takes place in slow motion forward with long insights into each characters past. all of them do exactly what you'e rooting for them to do... very satisfying with a great ending! not what you expect tho so dont try to guess! :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting characters and intriguing plot.

Fun listen. Went fast. Boston accent got annoying at times but plot was so exciting. Loved listening for the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Beloti
  • 04-04-18

not her best work

i finished the book, but i admit i fast forward some places. it was a little too drawn out. i feel that you could condense the book in half and still get the substance of the book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lulu
  • 10-27-15

Emotional Twisted Tale of Love, lies & Secrets

Wow, this is a book guaranteed to make you cry as the characters deal with grief, curl up in anger and/or anxiety and become restless with seeking and needing to know the truth!! Towards the end, the twisted lies and secrets begin to unfold and show how far acts of abuse, however far in the past can reach into the future if not dealt with. It's a story that tells of the importance of knowing and preserving history with the discernible need to leave the past behind in order to have a future.
This book was engaging from start to finish, well written and overall enjoyable. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes, Dorothy Koomson and the like will love Diane's books.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • audieJ
  • 11-11-16

Not what I was expecting

this is a story of Annie who dies in the first chapter. Every one in the town thought she was an angel. But she had a dark side to her. Three guys loved her. It becomes a web of love and lies. The truth comes out in the end what Annie has been up too. This book is the first of three in the Kiss River Trilogy. 5 stars from me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dannielle
  • 06-02-15

A great story, very addictive story.

I loved it, I had to finish it so I knew what happened but was sad when I had finished it because it was over.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alana
  • 05-28-15

a great find

I really loved this book, I came across it by chance looking for another title and having read this author a number of times thought why not. I also loved that it's a part of trilogy I never used to but these days I enjoy them. The story keeps you interested from start to finish, the characters are easy to connect with and it flows well. I was kept surprised at times with their development and the storyline. I am looking forward to the next installment.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful