Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.

©2013 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2013 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    226
  • 4 Stars
    176
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    17

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    220
  • 4 Stars
    148
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The story was good

The narrator was awful. Her pauses far to long. I knew where ever period and paragraph was in the book... I enjoy the story and at one point I even found myself jumping a few chapters to satisfy a fear I had and go back to listening..lol..

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Story

I do believe this is my favorite Maggie story yet. It got right into the action, instead of leaving it to the last few pages of the story. I am bummer about her and John and hope they are able to come to terms with everything and work it out. I was upset that they switched narrators, but now that I am on the third book, I think it was the right choice. On to the next!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I recommend this book

this book has a lot about World War 2 it's very interesting and has a good story line I would recommend this book for anyone over the age of 14

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Best in series so far!

Enjoyed story behind enemy lines in Germany. Well researched, excellent plot, great characters. Can't wait to read next in series. This narrator was much better with German accent than she was with English in second book in series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Quite good

I was very pleased by this book. I enjoyed the first in the series but was disappointed with the second one. It's good that this third volume is back to the quality of the first book.

The story was compelling even given its serious nature. I enjoyed the narrator better in this book than in the preceding one basically because Maggie was speaking with a German accent throughout most of the story. In the earlier book Maggie's voice was just weird.

I wasn't happy with the way Maggie's personal life worked out at the end. Time will tell with that.

And finally, there was a moment that made me stop and say "what?" That was the use of the term "baby bump." Seriously, was that used in the early 1940s?

But, all-in-all, a lightly suspenseful story of WWII Berlin. I liked it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Such a good story!

The characters are continuing to develop from the previous books and throughout this one. Overall, well done.

Also Susan Duerden does an excellent job, as always.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Stephanie
  • Long Beach, CA, United States
  • 05-11-15

Good incite into WWII

Fun to read about a woman spy. Loved it. On to the next. I'm addicted. Maggie also has great difficulty being a spy.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Keeps you gripped.

Lots of twists. Keeps you engaged. The reader was quite good doing a German accent when people spoke German.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great female lead.

I thoroughly enjoy this series. It has enough meat to it, but not too much to be too intense. Looking forward to the next one!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enjoyable read

This series is interesting, well paced. I am off to read the 4th one in the series. Very enjoyable reading.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.