An Orphan in the Snow

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 12 hrs and 1 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (43 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.85

Buy for $13.85

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope.

Liverpool, 1941.

Troubled by a dark family history and the pain of seeing her country torn apart by war, young June Lavender finds new hope when she takes a job at the Dr Barnardo's children's home. There she meets Lizzie McRae, a little girl who is the spitting image of June's sister, who died tragically years before. Against the matron's wishes, the two girls form an unexpected bond as June tries to get the traumatised orphan to speak.

Meanwhile, June crosses path with Flight Lieutenant Murray Andrews, and the attraction is instant. But how can either of them think of love when war is ripping the world apart?

A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

©2017 Molly Green (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Amoving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love for a RAF pilot." (Kitty Neale)

What listeners say about An Orphan in the Snow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

An Orphan in the Snow by Molly Green

Excellent! Very well written and keeps you wanting to continue reading. Recommend this author's work. Thank-you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

<br />tender story ....tugged at heartstrings

It was a nice story, great performance....i thoroughly enjoyed it. msde you feel like you were there.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it was okay

I found myself skipping ahead a lot so I could be finished. I didn't hate it, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Edwards
  • Paul Edwards
  • 09-21-18

Brilliant

Really enjoyed this book, Molly Green is an excellent story teller, and Karen Cass a great narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for simplyswing
  • simplyswing
  • 05-03-18

So good

Extremely well written and narrated. I couldn't have wished for better. Can wait to read the next book. Hope it's as good.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rose Bird
  • Rose Bird
  • 05-01-18

Boring

Monotonous and boring expected good Christmas story.. gave up on it in end very disappointed