The Prime Minister's Secret Agent

A Maggie Hope Mystery
Narrated by: Susan Duerden
Series: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 4
Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (558 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.

©2014 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2014 Random House Audio
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    296
  • 4 Stars
    187
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    272
  • 4 Stars
    137
  • 3 Stars
    52
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    152
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narration spoils the book

What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.

Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

I like the author but some else needs to narrate.

What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

GET IT RIGHT!!!!

There were several goofs in this book including name mix-ups. But the one inexcusable error was referring to a sailor as a "private"!! Insulting. If you are going to write a book about war and the military at least get the ranks and ratings correct!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed

Would you listen to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent again? Why?

I enjoyed the different turns and twists in this installment of the series.

Any additional comments?

I still have a challenge with the narration style of the narrarator, although she does do a lovely job with the character voices

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dissapointed

If you could sum up The Prime Minister's Secret Agent in three words, what would they be?

Waste of time

What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

This book is basically about Maggie working through her issues so she can go do spy work again. I felt like this could have been condensed into a couple chapters at most and then get on with the story.

Any additional comments?

I've really enjoyed the series so far. I was looking forward to this book, but was disappointed because the whole book felt like an interlude between stories rather than a story in itself. I kept waiting for the story to pick up speed, by the time it started gaining momentum it was over.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series <br />

Good plot, character and intrigue in the whole Maggie Hope mystery series. Thoroughly enjoyed them all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 11-23-14

slow....

slow story line, slow reading, slow developing the story line. just hated the section on Clara's mother - really? just not as exciting as the other books by far. was a dialed in story, dialed in performance. will give serious thought before purchasing the next one, maybe borrow from the local library instead. oh and let me add boringly slow.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

Is there anything you would change about this book?

A different narrator. Her style is breathless and bumpy.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

Davina Porter

Do you think The Prime Minister's Secret Agent needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Yes, of course. We need to see Maggie in the US, find out what path her mother follows, and see how her half sister gets released from Germany.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Revisionary History

What disappointed you about The Prime Minister's Secret Agent?

Long dragged out conversations that appear to be US and British hate-baiting. Listened for over 2 hours of the nice hour book and and never found out what the mystery was. Depression and anger run rampant

What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Quit writing made up conversations that last 30 minutes about philosophy (Churchhill rants on and on )

Which scene was your favorite?

Could not find a favorite scene because I could not tolerate listening for HOURS with out a story to follow.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good Series

While the Maggie Hope series is not as good as the Maisie Dobbs series it is still very good. It's a little more light-hearted than the MD series. The setting is London during WWII. Maggie Hope begins as a secretary for Prime Minister Churchill, becomes a code breaker, and the series develops from there. Enjoyable.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

another solid story

You might at times think this is a lovely cozy mystery and it does have that aspect at the root, but in fact, their are deep issues dealt within each of the books. It's shocking hearing Frau Hess describe who she hates. It terrible hearing the moral compromises of war. It also fun to have the real facts and time lines and known people as ancillary characters. I looked up "That Hamilton Woman" and MT Niikata plus a few other items.
I am told the next book will deal with how black soldiers were treated in war 2. The author doesn't take the easy way out but hits the subject matter straight on surrounded by a little fluff, romance and well rounded troupe of characters

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alison Edie
  • Alison Edie
  • 01-17-18

Don't enjoy listening to this person's voice

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I would have enjoyed a dramatised version of this book - I LOVE the stories but the person chosen to read this book has a very monotone voice which I can't listen to.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I love so many; I can't pick just one.

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

Jenna Coleman - I think she would have done an amazing job

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment; I've been looking for the hard copy of this book for AGES but unable to find it so thought I'd get the audio version. Didn't enjoy the narration at all.

Any additional comments?

How do I return it?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 05-09-18

A little empty

Having read all the previous books I found this one a little empty as if it was a fill up between two good stories.