Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.

©2013 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2013 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    178
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    219
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    18

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    232
  • 4 Stars
    150
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A YA Mystery that Isn't... Quite

Would you try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal and/or Susan Duerden?

Probably not.

Has His Majesty's Hope turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. This series just doesn't measure up.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narrator has a pleasant voice, and does accents well. If she wanted to imitate a German accent, though, she should have researched it a bit better. Her "German" comes across a bit too much like what you'd hear in a cartoon. A little too much V for W and little else that sounds German. Her narration tends to have a sing song quality that could be improved on.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from His Majesty's Hope?

The decision to include a PG sex scene was awkward and didn't fit. This series seems to be aimed at YA, and the sex neither added to the characterization nor moved the plot along.

Any additional comments?

The author has obviously done a lot of research on swing dance and jazz. She includes too much, though. Describing a swing dance would be fine, and in keeping with the book... Including a long list of dance moves was out of place.<br/><br/>The book doesn't seem to be able to decide what audience is wanted. The writing style and characterization is more Young Adult than adult, but the author includes a homosexual character and his affairs as well as an awkward sex scene. Sex can be included in YA if it is handled properly, but this scene comes across as awkward and self conscious.<br/><br/>The characterization and action remind me of the Nancy Drew books I read as a child. I have read three by this author, because I hoped the awkwardness of the first one might have been a fluke. The author writes smooth, easy to read prose, but the characters are rather flat and the plot is very predictable.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Liked the series but....

Really loved the story premise but hoped they would bring back the first narrator...but they stayed with the second and, while she has a pretty voice, her "acting" is very limited. The narrator has such a huge impact on how the story is viewed, and it becomes difficult to separate the two.....

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • nicola
  • Basel, Switzerland
  • 09-06-13

Narrator.She doesnt end sentences & is breathy

Would you consider the audio edition of His Majesty's Hope to be better than the print version?

Yes. The narrator does not complete sentences as one would expect to have a fullstop at the end of a sentence. She draws out the last word of a sentence and seems to be "breathy". I almost stopped listening because of the monotonous narrator

How did the narrator detract from the book?

She was monotonous and boring.

Who was the most memorable character of His Majesty's Hope and why?

Maggie. Heroine

Any additional comments?

A narrator should make you believe that you are watching a movie. This narrator made me want to switch off audible and watch a movie

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Katherine
  • Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
  • 07-26-14

Seems to be meant for young people

I enjoyed the first 2 of the series, but this one seemed too juvenile, with the adult characters one-dimensional and mean. The narrator didn't bother me as much as it did others. It was all part of the slightly cartoonish approach. I'll be skipping the rest of the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kay Curry
  • rison, arkansas United States
  • 08-14-13

A good book ruined by bad narration

What would have made His Majesty's Hope better?

The narration for this Maggie Hope book was really awful. I will not be listening to anymore by this reader.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kristen
  • SOMERSET, PA, United States
  • 05-28-13

Can't wait for the next Maggie Hope book!

Would you listen to His Majesty's Hope again? Why?

Yes, the story line continues to fascinate and keeps the reader engaged.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Maggie is a strong woman dealing with multiple challenges in a time of great uncertainty.

Have you listened to any of Susan Duerden’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, I truly prefer the previous narrator.

If you could take any character from His Majesty's Hope out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Definitely Maggie, she is witty, complex, and independent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Diana
  • ALEXANDRIA, VA, United States
  • 05-24-13

Great series!

I love this series and want to listen to each book as long as it lasts. The story line is a good one, and the historical bits are interesting. I am not sure though that I will be able to listen to another book narrated by Susan Duerden. PLEASE return to the original reader!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

MacNeal is Awesome!!!

truly enjoying her books, I can't wait to listen to the next one. I've been on the edge of my seat every time I've read one of her books. ❤

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very enjoyable!

I almost didn't get this book because of reviews of the narrator and fear of possible torture of the main character in Nazi Germany. Thankfully, I got it and it was excellent. The narrator is just fine and there is no graphic violence in the book. It is very similar to other books in the series as an informative and fascinating look behind the scenes of WWII. I know it's fiction, but the author does a great job of bringing the realities of war in both Germany and Britain to life! I'm so glad I found this series!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Maggie's "successes" seem accidental...

...not a result of her skills. In fact, she's borderline hysterical at times. Rather odd for a MI5 agent. Wish the author would grow her up.