Regular price: $13.42

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Three friends. One year. Absolutely no men...

Imogen is supposed to be on the most romantic weekend of her life and instead she's quickly realised that her current boyfriend definitely isn't ‘The One' and is actually One Big Mistake.

Frankie is fed up. Fed up of her good-for-nothing husband and her four unappreciative children. Well, they hardly notice her anyway, so maybe it's time to shake it up a little....

Grace thought she had the perfect life. Gorgeous little boy and perfect, hardworking husband. Or rather, she did, until she realised her husband was shagging his 'work'.

These single ladies don't need to put a ring on it...right?

Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Helen Fielding and Fiona Gibson. Don't miss this brilliant debut best seller from Fiona Collins!

©2016 Fiona Collins (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

we hate men

we hate men for 8 zillion reasons and we are right and have no flaws ourselves.' blah blah blah

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • shan phillips
  • 05-02-17

Loved the story

Great story, loved the plot line, could relate to the woman's lives, been there more than once

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James
  • 02-01-17

Great Voice Performance!

What made the experience of listening to A Year of Being Single the most enjoyable?

I was expecting pretty much a standard romcom from this book and basically that is what you get. What makes this audio book so great is the narrators performance. Characters are rich, the story zips along. Wasn't expecting to but absolutely loved it!

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The multiple characters and narration were the most interesting aspects. The story sometimes relies a lot on description and often the erotic descriptions are a little bit out there but Fiona Collins weaves a good emotional story around you all the same.

What does Elisabeth Hopper bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I thought the narration was spot on and much better than a lot of other voices on audio books I've listened to. Characters were really well defined and engaging. There was a great energy in the performance. I felt like the actor really had an emotional connection with the story. Genuinely made the audio book a great listening experience.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Frankie getting back with Rob. Felt like the longest journey.

Any additional comments?

Nope

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.