The Mum Who Got Her Life Back

Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

The laugh-out-loud Sunday Times best seller is back and funnier than ever! Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks.

When her 18-year-old twins leave for university, single mum Nadia’s life changes in ways she never expected: her Glasgow flat feels suddenly huge, laundry doesn’t take up half her week, and she no longer has to buy ‘the Big Milk’. After almost two decades of putting everyone else first, Nadia is finally taking care of herself. And with a budding romance with new boyfriend Jack, she’s never felt more alive.

That is until her son, Alfie, drops out of university, and Nadia finds her empty nest is empty no more. With a heartbroken teenager to contend with, Nadia has to ask herself: is it ever possible for a mother to get her own life back? And can Jack and Nadia’s relationship survive having a sulky teenager around?

A gloriously funny and uplifting audiobook perfect for fans of Gill Sims and Jill Mansell.

©2018 Fiona Gibson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A terrifically entertaining, cheery romance, with an endearing heroine." (Sunday Mirror)

"Warm, funny and poignant." (Daily Mail)

"Warm, witty and fun." (My Weekly)

What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

I couldn't wit to get in the car by myself to listen to this gem about a real post 50 yr old divor ed woman's relationship challenges with her new beau. Funny, too. Loved the narrator's.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Just relax and let it be told

I kept waiting for the “action” to take off. Usually, the romantic story accompanied an overarching plot line and conflict that drives the story. In this book, you are a voyeur to their love story. The things that happen around them come and go, and the romance is the central thread. When I realized that, I was able to relax and just be along for the ride!

The narrators are very good, but I found Nadia’s voice too shrill and grating, at times. I had to take a break, now and again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 06-23-19

Thoroughly enjoyable!!

This book was so good, down to earth romance with people in their 40s and 50s rather than the usual 20 somethings.
All of the characters were brilliant and believable. Nadia and Jack were lovely characters. Nadias son Alfie was hilarious. So was Ian who worked in the charity shop managed by Jack.
Very witty and amusing, it had me laughing out loud at times.
RECOMMENDED 5*

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hazel
  • Hazel
  • 08-01-19

Just ok

The story was ok but The female narrator was just awful! I don’t know why she made her son sound so whiney and with incredibly slow diction! I found this so irritating after about 5 minutes. Was kinda glad when it came to an end.

1 person found this helpful