adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The laugh-out-loud Sunday Times best seller is back and funnier than ever! Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks.

When her 18-year-old twins leave for university, single mum Nadia’s life changes in ways she never expected: her Glasgow flat feels suddenly huge, laundry doesn’t take up half her week, and she no longer has to buy ‘the Big Milk’. After almost two decades of putting everyone else first, Nadia is finally taking care of herself. And with a budding romance with new boyfriend Jack, she’s never felt more alive.

That is until her son, Alfie, drops out of university, and Nadia finds her empty nest is empty no more. With a heartbroken teenager to contend with, Nadia has to ask herself: is it ever possible for a mother to get her own life back? And can Jack and Nadia’s relationship survive having a sulky teenager around?

A gloriously funny and uplifting audiobook perfect for fans of Gill Sims and Jill Mansell.

©2018 Fiona Gibson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A terrifically entertaining, cheery romance, with an endearing heroine." (Sunday Mirror)

"Warm, funny and poignant." (Daily Mail)

"Warm, witty and fun." (My Weekly)

What listeners say about The Mum Who Got Her Life Back

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

I couldn't wit to get in the car by myself to listen to this gem about a real post 50 yr old divor ed woman's relationship challenges with her new beau. Funny, too. Loved the narrator's.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Empty Nesters

A great story about a couple who are divorced and both of them have kids that are in college and they are enjoying the life of empty nesters when things are interrupted by life when their kids show up back at home some for just a spell others have issues going on in their young lives that they run home to seek refuge which interrupts Nadia and Jacks new found love and plans. So as through life it has its ups and downs but everything works out for the better and the couple find themselves alone again empty nesters with their kids all moving back to their places and college's to restart their schooling and their personal lives now that all are on track everyone is happy not to mention their first night alone Jack plans a surprise getaway for him and Nadia. You'll have to listen to find out what the surprise is.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Just relax and let it be told

I kept waiting for the “action” to take off. Usually, the romantic story accompanied an overarching plot line and conflict that drives the story. In this book, you are a voyeur to their love story. The things that happen around them come and go, and the romance is the central thread. When I realized that, I was able to relax and just be along for the ride!

The narrators are very good, but I found Nadia’s voice too shrill and grating, at times. I had to take a break, now and again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 06-23-19

Thoroughly enjoyable!!

This book was so good, down to earth romance with people in their 40s and 50s rather than the usual 20 somethings.
All of the characters were brilliant and believable. Nadia and Jack were lovely characters. Nadias son Alfie was hilarious. So was Ian who worked in the charity shop managed by Jack.
Very witty and amusing, it had me laughing out loud at times.
RECOMMENDED 5*

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-22-21

brilliant book!

very funny and loved hearing the different people perspectives in the story enjoyed every bit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Haze
  • Haze
  • 10-20-20

Easy listening !

Enjoyable book, and if you have kids that have flown the nest to go to uni, it’s easy to identify with the story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gg
  • gg
  • 08-17-20

love that - it's ok to be honest

loved it - great to hear what is most parents real feelings - yes you miss and love your kids - but you don't miss all the drama that goes with them

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hazel
  • Hazel
  • 08-01-19

Just ok

The story was ok but The female narrator was just awful! I don’t know why she made her son sound so whiney and with incredibly slow diction! I found this so irritating after about 5 minutes. Was kinda glad when it came to an end.

1 person found this helpful