We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5270 )
5 star
 (2867)
4 star
 (1189)
3 star
 (607)
2 star
 (302)
1 star
 (305)
Overall
4.1 (4859 )
5 star
 (2606)
4 star
 (1121)
3 star
 (553)
2 star
 (280)
1 star
 (299)
Story
4.2 (4859 )
5 star
 (3026)
4 star
 (859)
3 star
 (439)
2 star
 (226)
1 star
 (309)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    A. Musser Atlanta 08-10-15
    A. Musser Atlanta 08-10-15 Member Since 2013

    Engineer, wife, audiobook addict. I live for those books that you just cannot put down.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    167
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A most excellent distraction"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    No, once is enough. It was definitely entertaining and enjoyable but I don't need to relive any of it.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    I'd compare it to Jenny Lawson's (the author) blog. If you read her blog and you find yourself amused and entertained, you'll enjoy her book. It's just quirky and irreverent tales from her real life and real experiences told through her own filter with lots of cursing. It made me laugh out loud at parts. Some parts are taken directly from her blog. Some were new to me.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    Surprisingly, I found it took a few chapters to get used to Jenny's voice. My husband pointed out that it has a little bit of a higher pitched almost whiney quality that he wasn't expecting and after that I couldn't un-hear it. However, my love for Ms. Lawson and her slightly insane outlook and sense of humor overshadows any shortcomings in her narration by a long shot.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacia Waddle 08-09-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    I want to be her best friend. I LOVED this book. It made me literally laugh out loud and that never happens.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cynthia Castro Valley, CA, USA 08-09-15
    Cynthia Castro Valley, CA, USA 08-09-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really fun and relatable. Laugh out loud funny!"

    Much about Jenny Lawson's world really resonates with me and I found her style very engaging, easy to follow, and hilarious. Just what I was looking for. Highly recommend, especially if you spent your childhood summers in west Texas like I did. Papa used to go to that cotton gin in Well, Texas “Where Ginning is an Art and Service. A Pleasure”. What a wonderful view into rural living. "Read" this book, get some bonus bits not in the written version, and fall in love with Jenny's entire family!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    PB 08-06-15
    PB 08-06-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome!!"

    Hysterical entertainment from beginning to end. A poetic mix of humor and heart. Just don't listen in crowded places unless you are ready to turn heads as you bust out loud laughing!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ashley Wellman 08-02-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Read it don't listen to it"

    I probably would have enjoyed it more if I physically read it rather than listening to her. Took me a longgggg time to finally finish. Singing the chapter names got increasing annoying as it went on.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sabrina Hollinshead Frederick, CO United States 07-30-15
    Sabrina Hollinshead Frederick, CO United States 07-30-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    Jenny is an absolute delight! I laughed so much and even cried a bit. well worth your time!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teri Medford, MN, United States 07-28-15
    Teri Medford, MN, United States 07-28-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    473
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You HAVE to listen to the audio to "get" this book!"

    Jenny Lawson does a wonderful job reading her own book! I don't think I would have laughed as hard if I had tried to read it. Although I do want to buy the book just to see the pictures.

    Jenny goes off on tangents the same way my brain does!
    She argues with her husband about stupid shit the same way I argue with my husband.
    She and her husband have off the wall conversations the same way my husband and I do, although most of ours happen in the car.

    I highly recommend this book to someone who is in the mood to laugh and who understands weird brain tangent humor.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-24-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Life Affirming!"

    Jenny's performance made this audio book spectacular. It was nice to hear stories from someone else who has struggled with mental illness. I am going to pre-order her next book and I highly suggest that you do the same.

    P.S. This writing s#!t really does come naturally to her and she should get a Pulitzer for this!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Chicago, IL 07-23-15
    Karen Chicago, IL 07-23-15 Member Since 2017

    Karen

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why have I never heard of this woman until now???!"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    I laughed out loud so many times listening to this. I can completely related to the things she says. I am going through something very rough right now and bought this to help me laugh. I needed it. Jenny Lawson is very human and has a hilarious view of life that created a very enjoyable 8 hours.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I was listening to this while walking my dogs. Jenny was talking about buying a taxidermied alligator and I burst out laughing. A very cute guy was walking a stroller in front of me and looked at me like I was crazy. It was one of many moments where I was laughing so hard I was crying, and truly enjoying myself. I also didn't care that this guy thought I was crazy because Jenny takes pride in being nuttier than me.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I feel like Jenny is someone that I want to hang out with. Her way of telling a story makes you feel like you are hanging out just listening to these crazy hilarious stories, I also prefer audio books to reading because I tend to read from cover to cover, as a busy woman I can't sit around reading, So I often listen to books while cleaning or walking my dogs. This is a book where I was glad I could do that because it made my day super enjoyable.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yup! I also want to invite her to dinner and hang out drinking coffee with her,


    Any additional comments?

    I am going through a rough time right now and really needed to laugh, I am so glad I was able to find this book. I am now a huge fan of Jenny Lawson, she gave me 8 hours and 41 minutes of joy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy 07-22-15
    Timothy 07-22-15 Member Since 2015

    Musician and runner living on the island of Jeju in South Korea.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is that you Zooey Deschanel?"

    About halfway through this audiobook I considered stopping. It's not that I wasn't entertained, it was more that I had realized that Lawson had a formula that she was sticking to and wasn't going to diverge from. Throughout "Let's Pretend" Lawson present readers with a unique situation that she's found herself in, adds some quirky references and digressions, and sprinkles in some dialogue in which she alienates the other person.

    The problem for me was that Lawson spent the entire novel trying to prove her uniqueness as a storyteller and, in doing so, bypassed much of what could have made the book interesting. For instance, her husband, someone who she's made it through 15 years of marriage with, comes across as a boring mirror for Lawson's zaniness. He is presented as somebody who is constantly sighing and throwing up his hands or forking over his credit card for Lawson's next impulsive buy. It seems that in making the people around her into mirrors, Lawson tries too hard and misses the actual unique viewpoint that she could be exploring.

    There are moments in the stories when Lawson's voice makes a notable dog leg into a sincere tone. This is when Lawson allows herself to be vulnerable and shows her potential for something more. Lawson, however, sabotages these moments by trivializing them through some digression or other interruption. These moments show what the book could have been: a chance for Lawson to get away from the blog format and explore a more long form approach.

    Overall, the book was like hearing one of Zooey Deschanel's characters narrate her journal. It reads to me like somebody trying too hard to prove how special they are by listing every scarring memory and wacky thought that pops into her head. There were too many references to cowbells and velocoraptors for my taste.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.